Old 29 July 2012, 18:56   #1

Town: Guildford
Boat name: Mash III
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: 2 x 200HP Suzukis
Weymouth Olympics - Collecting guests and keeping them dry!

Hi All

I'm very new to Ribs/Boats so please don't bite me for asking such a silly question. I've had a 9m Ribcraft for a few months now which I keep in Portsmouth. I have a mooring in Weymouth for next week and was thinking about taking the boat down there and using it.

The Olympic pack tells me all about where I can pick friends up etc once I'm down there, but only for in Weymouth. Figure getting in/out of Weymouth is going to be utter chaos, so looking for somewhere else where friends could got on/off the boat on some form of jetty so I don't need to beach it and/or make them swim! I'd prefer some places East of Weymouth - thought about Lulworth Cove, but sounds like that's a private jetty. So my questions (Inc a few others are!)

1) Does anyone know if the Lulworth Cove jetty guy will allow the odd quick drop/off pick up?
2) Anyone know of anywhere else!
3) Any good easy access Fuel Jettys on the way to Weymouth (Poole/Swanage?)
4) Anyone know how long the trip will take to get there assuming decent weather. I read somewhere it was about 55NM, so I figure a couple of hours at around a 30Kt cruise (2 x 200HP Suzuki's). Good fuel economy speed to cruise it.

I'm clearly very green! Many thanks in advance to all!

Matt
Old 29 July 2012, 18:59   #2
CJL

Town: London/Oxford
Make: Ribcrafts
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp/2x115hp
MMSI: 235090215
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to CJL
Quote:
Originally Posted by uk_matt View Post
Does anyone know if the Lulworth Cove jetty guy will allow the odd quick drop/off pick up?
Old 29 July 2012, 19:01   #3
CJL

Town: London/Oxford
Make: Ribcrafts
Engine: 150hp/2x115hp
MMSI: 235090215
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to CJL
http://www.rib.net/forum/f30/the-lul...boy-19179.html
Old 29 July 2012, 19:53   #4

Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig