Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 02 February 2008, 20:31   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
MustRib's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle
Boat name: Merlin
Make: RB4 Gemini 550
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 90C
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,071
Water seperating fuel filter

Just wondering if I need one of these with my rig...
My gas is in plastic 25litre tanks on the deck.
Should I have one of these filters fastened to the transom.
How many peeps on here have one on their rib?

cheers
Andy
__________________
MustRib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 February 2008, 20:43   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,908
RIBase
I've got one on mine, and had one on the SR4 before it. I didn't shell out for the expensive cartridge type though. I use an automotive type inline fuel filter (cheap and easy to carry a spare) and a steel mesh/glass bowl type water separator that I can see if there's contamination in.

It's easy to get water in through a tank breather if you stuff the boat.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 February 2008, 21:48   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
How good are the seperators if you have got water in the fuel???
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 February 2008, 23:17   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,908
RIBase
Mine seems to work but draining it through the screw at the bottom takes a while unless I loosen the glass bowl.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2008, 05:29   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,425
Quote:
Mine seems to work but draining it through the screw at the bottom takes a while unless I loosen the glass bowl.
Put the squeeze bulb before the separator then you can drive in new fuel to replace the water.

They work pretty well, Codders. There is always some water in yer fuel...maybe not much, but some.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2008, 07:33   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,908
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
Put the squeeze bulb before the separator then you can drive in new fuel to replace the water.
I can't. Mine has 2 inlets in use so I can run 2 tanks at once.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2008, 08:47   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ardfern
Boat name: Moon Raker
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Honda BF 90 D
MMSI: 235035994
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
Put the squeeze bulb before the separator then you can drive in new fuel to replace the water.

They work pretty well, Codders. There is always some water in yer fuel...maybe not much, but some.
I'd agree with that. Usually the surface separation is visible and you can drain it away - unless you pour a whole five litres of water into the tank as I did once. Couldn't understand why the engine suddenly stopped as there was no fuel/water separation line in the glass bowl. It was only when I got back to the mooring and drained the bowl to check again that I realised the stuff pouring out didn't smell and was 'beading' on my then oily hands.
__________________
alystra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2008, 14:26   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
I can't. Mine has 2 inlets in use so I can run 2 tanks at once.
Use 2 bulbs.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2008, 14:34   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: Time Flies
Make: Humber ocean pro 6.3
Length: 6m +
Engine: volvo D3
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 31
I have one on my SR5.4 i'm able to swap between plastic tank and built in tank. wont go with out it
__________________
chris p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2008, 16:38   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
MustRib's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle
Boat name: Merlin
Make: RB4 Gemini 550
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 90C
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,071
seems like I should be fitting one then...
the oroiginal Yamaha part is around £50+ .. anyone tried the Tempo one which is only around £35+????
__________________
MustRib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2008, 20:57   #11
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,908
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
Use 2 bulbs.

D'oh! I should have thought of that.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2008, 04:05   #12
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
Mine seems to work but draining it through the screw at the bottom takes a while unless I loosen the glass bowl.
Isn't there a bleed screw on the top?

One question for you though, do both tanks drain down equally? I suppose you could control which tank feeds by opening and closing the tank breather screws.



Pete
__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2008, 13:23   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustRib View Post
seems like I should be fitting one then...
the oroiginal Yamaha part is around £50+ .. anyone tried the Tempo one which is only around £35+????
Yes I had one of them - worked fine but did corode quickly. I did however crack the casing eventually by overtightening one of the barb connectors for the tank so if you went for it, just be careful. Stainless version would be better!
__________________
al40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2008, 13:46   #14
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,908
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
Isn't there a bleed screw on the top?

One question for you though, do both tanks drain down equally? I suppose you could control which tank feeds by opening and closing the tank breather screws.



Pete
No bleed screw. I can undo the glass bowl via the central bolt (10mm SS) and it breathes round the seal.

Tanks don't drain down equally because I've got it set up to connect to 2xflexi tanks and a plastic tank at once-so when the flexitanks are empty I just open the breather screw on the plastic tank. The flexitanks drain equally though.
It works quite well-I only have to start physically switching connectors over after using 70l-and then it's all hooked up again to the other 2 flexi tanks and the 2nd plastic one-or I can hotswap it without any danger of the fuel pump sucking on vacuum.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2008, 14:18   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
You can get a Lucas/CAV one from a Diesel specialist for around £20 and replacement filter elements only cost around £2 apiece, but some of the parts are prone to corrode when splashed with seawater. Won't affect its function though.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2008, 09:15   #16
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Christiansted.V.I.
Boat name: Froggy
Make: Avon SeaRider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Johnson 50
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 312
Racor...the King of Separators

I consider my Racor filter an essential piece of gear. Once I leave the harbor, an engine outage could set me up for a two to three week drift downrange. Don't leave home without it.....as they say!
__________________
Tomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2008, 12:42   #17
RIBnet supporter
 
MustRib's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle
Boat name: Merlin
Make: RB4 Gemini 550
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 90C
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,071
sold then... sounds like everyone uses one....
thanks
__________________
MustRib is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.