Town: Castlebar
Boat name: Clewless
Make: Valiant DR 490
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60 hp ETEC
MMSI: Awaitng one
RIBase
Valiant DR 490 and 40 HP ETEC

Hello there. I am new to thing so please bear with me. I am looking at a valiant DR 490 powered by a 40 HP ETEC can any one advise as to this combination of rib and engine. I am planning to use the boat for days out with the family. The boat may also be used for diving with 4 divers
Old 08 October 2007, 14:03   #2

Town: Scillies
Boat name: Freedom
Make: Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 2st 90
If you are wanting to get 4 divers + kit and push it along I would look at another 10 or preferably 20 HP.

Just my feelings

Ian
Old 08 October 2007, 14:15   #3

Town: Castlebar
Boat name: Clewless
Make: Valiant DR 490
Engine: 60 hp ETEC
MMSI: Awaitng one
RIBase
Will this rib not get onto the plan with 4 divers and a 40 hp Etec?
Old 08 October 2007, 15:01   #4

Town: British Columbia
Make: Gemini
Engine: 40hp 2 str
Why a 40 hp E-tec, considering that the 60 hp E-tec weighs no more than the 40?

Before buying any inflatable, I'd also confirm what type of fabric is used for the tubeset, and who the actual manufacturer of that fabric is. Generally hypalon will have a much longer life expectancy than PVC (and costs more), but recently there has been some very poor quality hypalon appearing on the market. Orca Pennell pretty much sets the standard for high quality hypalon fabric in different weights. It is better to pay a little more for a high quality hypalon tubeset (thicker is also better, such as the Orca 866) from the get-go, since retubing a RIB can easily account for an additional 50% of the cost of a bare RIB.

Here are the specs on Orca's fabrics - You'll notice that the 1670 dtx weight Orca 866 is much stronger and far more tear resistant than the 1100 dtx weight Orca 828;

http://www.pennel.fr/Pages/orca_fab_prod_spec.htm

Paul Tilley is the fabric/tubeset guru on this board. http://www.tidel.biz/inflatablemanufacturer.php