Town: Cork
Boat name: na
Make: valiant
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 50hpOutboard
Valiant 450

Hi all
Im new to this game.
Recently purchased a 2004 valiant 450 +50hp mercury 2 stroke. Both appear to be in very good condition.
Always my ambition to own a rib for cruising in shore. Anybody got any views on this boat and engine. Have gone out a couple of times but being very careful until I get used to the boat. Any ideas on fuel consumption and reliability of this package.

cheers
Old 17 July 2011, 22:28   #2
RIBnet Supporter

Hi Gerry, welcome to RIBnet.

That should be a well matched combo. Two Stroke Mick in Castlebar runs a slightly bigger version and speaks well of it, but he's not Merc powered. Have a nosy round the forum and use the search facility. I'd guess about 0.6L/Nm if you don't plant her.

There's a lot of very useful information on here,

...and then there's mine
Old 10 August 2011, 18:14   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post
Hi Gerry, welcome to RIBnet.

That should be a well matched combo. Two Stroke Mick in Castlebar runs a slightly bigger version and speaks well of it, but he's not Merc powered. Have a nosy round the forum and use the search facility. I'd guess about 0.6L/Nm if you don't plant her.

There's a lot of very useful information on here,

...and then there's mine
Thanks Willk.

Tried it a few times in the last two weeks its going well. rises quiet high in the front before it planes, and can be a bit worrying at times.
Prob should put a bit of weight on fromt

Cheers
Old 11 August 2011, 08:23   #4

Town: Castlebar
Boat name: Clewless
Make: Valiant DR 490
Engine: 60 hp ETEC
MMSI: Awaitng one
RIBase
Hi Gerry

Make sure your engine is well trimmed in. I also have a substantial amount of lead in the anchor locker .
Old 11 August 2011, 21:10   #5

Thanks for that Mick
What sort of weight (amount) are you talking about? How would a couple of sandbags work. Is trimming about trial and error before you get it right.

Cheers