Old 14 July 2005, 12:28   #1

Town: Cowes
Length: no boat
Total Noob

Hi, I've not long moved to the Isle of Wight and want to buy a RIB. I've got lots of boating experience (going slow!) on the Norfolk Broads but really need to know the following before I splash out:

1. What advantages do RIBs have over other boats of a similar size?

2. What RIB should I get for running around the solent with up to 3 other people and a dog? Around 6-7m and up to £20k.

3. Can it be left in the water for long periods or does it have to put on a trailer when not used?

4. What nav equipment do I need?

5. What training should I get?

All answers gratefully received - I've got an itchy cheque book finger!
Old 14 July 2005, 12:29   #2

Town: Bucks
Boat name: Blue & Ding Dong
Make: Ribeye,SR4 & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115,50 & 15Hp Yams
Old 14 July 2005, 13:33   #3

Town: Newfoundland
Genuine

Hmm, presumably you are the same Britemp who posts on mobo chat? If so then I suspect genuine post not a trolling attempt so will respond in kind....

1) RIBs vs hardboats. This could take a year to discuss and would get bogged down in strong opinions either way. But in basic terms - increased buoyancy, softer ride, better in a rough sea, increased safety, SBS machismo overtones etc. Thing is that there are good RIBs and bad RIBs like there are good hardboats and bad hardboats and a lot of it is around how you use it.
Downsides for RIBS are little weather protection, no overnight accomodation (on most RIBs), expensive compared to similarly priced mass produced sportsboats.

Lots of RIBS in the Solent so they must offer some advantages if only as the latest must have fashion accessory

2) 6-7m good size. Short sharp chop in the solent so longer hull bridges it better and makes for comfortable ride. For your budget you are really looking at 2nd hand. So best thing is to look at what you could get for 20k and ask for specfic experience of RIB types here.