Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 15 December 2005, 17:32   #1

Length: 3m +
Thinking on buying a AVON 320 Jet DL

Hi

I'm new to Ribs and looking at purchasing an Avon 320 Jet DL. Can any of you give me some advise on this? They certainly are at a premium price point. Are they worth it ?
I'm in Canada. I found a new 2004 for 20 K CAD. I read that one rental company stopped using them as people we being thrown out. Any comments would be really be appreciated.

Thanks,
Old 15 December 2005, 17:43   #2

Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
That is nearly £10,000 sterling which is about the same price in the UK where they are made.

Yes it is a lot of money for a small boat - you could get a 5.5mRib over here for the same money.

Having said that they are great fun and pretty quick.

Yes you will get thrown out if you aren't carefull - that's what lifejackets and kill switches are for!!!

Think of it as a PWC in disguise - more a fun toy really. They are very popular as tenders for big yachts like sunseekers.

As you are in Canada have a look at the seedoo explorer - similar sort of thing but may be cheaper over there.
Old 16 December 2005, 09:42   #3

Town: Southampton
Boat name: SMH Rib / War Shot
Make: Ribtec / Scorpion
Length: 4m +
Engine: 100hp Yam/150hp opt
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrown
Hi

I'm new to Ribs and looking at purchasing an Avon 320 Jet DL. Can any of you give me some advise on this? They certainly are at a premium price point. Are they worth it ?
I'm in Canada. I found a new 2004 for 20 K CAD. I read that one rental company stopped using them as people we being thrown out. Any comments would be really be appreciated.

Thanks,
Very lively and yes, very easy to get thrown out. Charter company I do some driving for had one as a tender to their Sealine T46. Was great fun but the customers kept getting bounced out. Had to sell it before anyone got hurt.