Old 29 March 2004, 12:07   #1

Make: Ribcraft
Length: 4.8m
Engine: Mercury F60 EFI
Teething Problems

Hi,

I lauched my Ribcraft 4.8 on Saturday and it was superb! Boat was really easy to handle and within minutes I felt comfortable putting in the tightest spots! The engine was superb and sounded awesome! However, I did have one problem...

When on the plane, I got a lot of spray coming up over the transom. This spray was mostly directed away from the boat, but some water was coming in. I'm no expert but it clearly wasn't right. How can I stop all this transom spray? (It was both sides of the outboard leg but worse on the side with the elephant trunk, which was in the up posistion). I can only describe it as two 'fountain like' sprays of water coming up from the transom area. Can anyone tell me how to correct it? Is it to do with incorrect trim?

Thanks,

Robert
Old 29 March 2004, 12:19   #2

Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Rob hi,

Assuming the engine is the right length for the hull and has been trimmed correctly so the prop is horizontal then it is likey that the engine hasn't been fitted at the right height and you are getting spray from the front anti cavitation plates. Try jacking the engine up a hole.

Pete
Old 29 March 2004, 12:29   #3

Ribcraft fitted the engine...Surely they woudnt have done it wrong?
Old 29 March 2004, 12:39   #4

Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Quote:
Originally posted by Robert1
Ribcraft fitted the engine...Surely they woudnt have done it wrong?
Old 29 March 2004, 13:43   #5

Thanks for the suggestion, Pete. I'll have a word with Ribcraft. Anyone else got any ideas?
Old 29 March 2004, 14:38   #6

Town: Midlands
Make: Nautique
Length: 6m +
Engine: PCM 5.7l
Theres not really anything else down there that might cause that.

Once the engine has been lifted, if that is the problem expect an extra few knots top speed
Old 29 March 2004, 14:53   #7