Old 04 December 2006, 00:10   #1

Town: North Carolina, USA
Boat name: MissRocks
Make: Avon SR4
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 50 2 stroke
Surprise! The transom is rotten.

Hi Guys, I'm brand new to this game, but I'm learning a lot. I just bought a 98 SR4, good tubes, no patches. Elephant trunk was missing so I ordered a replacement from England because those parts weren't due to be shipped to NC Service Station for 2 months. When I began to install the transom sock, I was unpleasantly surprised to find that the transom core was soggy and significantly rotten. I have owned numerous whitewater hypalon rafts from Avon and so assume that they are high quality from stem to stern. What gives? Surely in 1998 they installed a good grade marine ply in this little boat, but it rotted impressively. My buddy told me I worry too much and said hang the engine on it and says he guarantees no problems. Couldn't do it! By the way the professional people I talked to don't seem to do transoms over here. I used a heat gun to separate the hypalon flaps allowing me to remove the metal strip and access the top of the transom. Chiseled out about a quart of "soggy punk wood". On the side where the transom sock was missing the damage was much worse. The wood intended to bolt from the floor brace was sponge. The good news is that the rot seems to extend downward and medially and I have sufficient decent wood to dry and bond to. I plan to use CPES from a company in Seattle, Washington to restore the mess. Is it true that freshwater not salt is the main cause? My opinion of marine grade plywood is not high unless it is Okume mahogany.
Old 04 December 2006, 09:39   #2

Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Marine ply can still rot, it is wood after all. It's the adhesive that's water resistant. It is true that fresh water causes rotting more than sea water. Fishermen in this area often leave some salt water in the bilges to protect them.