Old 22 July 2003, 08:13   #1

Town: Mayfair, London
Make: RibEye/Ferretti 881
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 25/Twin MTU
RibEye 725/750

I'm new to ribbing and looking at boats between 7m and 8m.

I wondered if anyone has any comments or experience of the RibEye 725 or 750. I'm looking at other makes as well and have done my research on those, but the RibEye seems good value for money with something like a 200hp on the back.
I'm specifically wanting a RIB that keeps driver, front and back seat passengers dry in a chop (as well as providing good performance). I'll likely buy second hand.

Any comments would be much appreciated

Many thanks,

Tim
Old 22 July 2003, 12:17   #2

Town: Brixham, Devon
Boat name: FLY-BY/FLY-BY II
Make: Ribcraft/Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 175/Yamaha 30
ribeye 720

Tim,
Hi, I run a RIBEYE 7.2m Dive with a 200hp hpdi on the back. This rib has the large 55gal tank under deck and is fully mca coded for 8 passengers.
It is a Dartmouth built hull prior to the production being moved to South Africa and Ribeye changing over to moulded decks!!!!!!!! My hull was built by Shakespeare under contract from ribeye.
Excellent sea boat but you have to watch a following big sea because it has a low bow!
RIBTEC now also built in S.A. lets see what happens there!!!!!!
Will be changing my RIB at the end of the season but to whom I have yet to decide.

Torbay & Dartmouth Powerboat School
01803 855508
The South West Premier RYA Powerboat Training Centre
www.powerboat-instruction.co.uk
David Hickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 July 2003, 17:05   #3

Town: no
Boat name: no
Make: no
Length: no boat
Engine: no
MMSI: no
Since Ribeye moved there production line to Prestige in Cape Town they would definitely be Farley high on my don’t touch with a barge pole list. There after sales guy from SA seems to spend more time in the UK fixing hull problems than he spends in SA building them.
Old 22 July 2003, 17:30   #4

Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri