Old 03 September 2014, 15:56   #1

Town: Swansea
Boat name: Julie Ann
Make: Bayliner
Length: 8m +
Engine: Inboard
Request for help in selecting a suitable RIB

Although I have a boat (not for long), I am new to RIBing and looking to get a RIB. Having researched as best I can I am still trying to understand the differences between the myriad of manufactures and models etc.

So I am now looking for experienced hands to help me further in my understanding. What manufacturer, model type, size and seating arrangement should I be looking for (or avoiding). I need a selection of options, as buying second hand means they do not come to order and I will have to make compromises.

BUDGET?
Absolute maximum, no more than £8,000, I am looking for less!

SIZE?
Boat – medium, between 4 to 5 meters, it is a compromise between the practicalities of: storage, towing, handling, running cost and the use we would like to get from it.

Engine - doesn’t come to order but I expect up to 60HP, again a compromise between the practicality of: use, handling and running cost.

TYPE, CONSTRUCTION & CATEGORY?
General purpose utility – maybe medium to deep V hull. Hull made from the common GRP or aluminium (but not wood or plastic) and Hypalon or Polyurethane for the tubes (preferably above the waterline). Category C.

WHAT FOR?
What will the boat be used for, mainly cruising with a little of everything e.g.:
Generally enjoying the sea and waterways
Wildlife and shoreline explorations
Picnicking
Fishing
Occasional water sports – donating.
Short trips to other locations along the coast or inland water ways
Participating in occasional club activities

WHERE USED?
The boat be used mainly on the sea, with occasional river and canal (and very occasional lake) use.

Based in the Bristol Channel, will use in varying sea states (most of the time, in calm states).

May cross the channel or visit Lundy Island (after becoming more proficient and taking someone sufficiently experienced).

WHO?