Old 12 November 2020, 21:10   #1

Town: Truro
Boat name: TBC
Make: TBC
Length: 5m +
Engine: TBC
Request for help choosing a new RIB please

Hi all,

I'd be grateful for some help choosing a next boat please... I'm new to RIBs and the forum!

Experience: Not new to boats (had a Picton 15 foot speedboat with Yammie 60hp for 10 years, mostly used in estuary. Also have a 3.4m mini-rib with a 15hp). Have done PB2/dayskipper and all that. Rib experience is nil other than a Humber Destroyer circa 5-6m trip ten years ago (awesome) and a mate's Humber Assault (not wanting to offend anyone, not good in a sea). Now I have a young family the Picton doesn't cut it for carrying capacity or seaworthiness.

What for: 60% outer edges of estuary (Fal) going to beaches with young family, 30% a few miles down the coast with young family, 10% major coastal++ missions with overnighters or holiday use, e.g. Salcombe, Scilly Isles (meet the family there I imagine!)

Level of use: quite a bit as live near water. Making me wonder if 4 stroke is worth it for fuel saving (historically have done my own maintenance on 2 strokes)

Storage: Likely to live on a tidal mooring (mud) in summer, enough space at home nearby for winter storage. So size for trailering doesn't bother me. Interested on thoughts on whether this is horrific in terms of shortening the lifetime of the boat.

Condition: No projects. Must be ultra-reliable now I have a family. I'd even pondered twin engines for resilience although not really sure what the pros/cons are (i.e. I don't know what I'm talking about!).

Budget: flexible. Once it starts costing more than the family car it might be harder to get ministerial approval from the good lady. Not really bothered if rib is "plush" or not, the utilitarian humber thing is fine in my books and not looking to be flashy (or get it pinched from the mooring)

Size: no idea, appreciate any advice on this!

Thanks for your pointers!

Trev
Old 12 November 2020, 23:03   #2

Length: 3m +