Old 07 November 2016, 16:43   #1

Town: Kent and Suffolk UK
Boat name: AlphaFox
Make: Atlantic
Length: 7m +
Engine: 2 O/B Suzuki DF90ATL
MMSI: 232012141
Repowering 7.5m rib

I am considering the purchase of a 7.5m RIB from a rescue service. I am a Rib newbie, although I have some basic boating experience learned in my teens (quite some time ago). I am going to do my Powerboat 2 when/if I get the boat.

I'm afraid that if this goes ahead I may have many questions. Up first is the choice of possible power.

I plan to use this boat on the Alde / Deben / east coast. I live in Kent and may also use it in the Thames estuary. It will also get towed to Mallaig every now and again as we have use of a house in Knoydart.

Said rescue service seem to have wanted redundancy and inversion abilities in their choice of two 2 stroke engines. Initially, I was thinking one big 4 stroke (?150), avoiding the problem with mixing fuel etc.

I'm told two engines actually only produce about 75% of the combined HP (presumably because they are sharing a relatively small area of water?). Increasingly, I am finding twin engines attractive as it will obviate the need for a back up and the boat was designed with two in mind.

So my question is - given the weight differential will my potential boat carry two 90 HP Four strokes?
Old 07 November 2016, 17:25   #2
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
RIBase
What's the boat? It makes a difference to how much power you need.

2x90hp should be fine, but there's a specific rating for most boats, and it probably won't go very well with a pair of 90s. I'd personally be looking at a single 200 or maybe a pair of 150hps.

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 November 2016, 21:04   #3

It's an Atlantic 75.
Old 07 November 2016, 21:07   #4

Why do you want twins?