Old 26 October 2017, 19:22   #1

Length: 5m +
PVC versus Hypalon

Whats the advantages of Hypalon guys ?,I'm new to ribs and looking at getting a Zodiac 340 ,price difference is about £600 ,is it worth it ,Oh,and i'm not great at maintaining stuff .
Old 26 October 2017, 19:35   #2

Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrowloopboy View Post
Whats the advantages of Hypalon guys ?,I'm new to ribs and looking at getting a Zodiac 340 ,price difference is about £600 ,is it worth it ,Oh,and i'm not great at maintaining stuff .

Personally for £600 I'd go hypalon. Much more durable, easier to repair, more UV stable, better resale value. All imo
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:Don't feed the troll
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2017, 20:00   #3

Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
RIBase
With Dave on this but having said that for my sib it was a 1000 more 1500 in PVC with a 5 year warranty so opted PVC to see how it fairs I do know one with the same material as mine over 10 years old seen it in the flesh and as good as new used extensively, but there are different specs mine is classed as heavy duty cheaper specs might not last.
Old 26 October 2017, 20:34   #4

Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: S/R5.4/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: Suzukidf70 2x6lp 315
Is the zodiac pvc or polyeurothane?
I was recently at the XS factory and they offer polyeurothane or hypalon and claim newer polyeurothane boats are much better than earlier ones as the material is different to the earlier stuff so the glue doesn't suffer uv degradation the way it used to. They are also heat welding the seams which has to be better.