Old 25 April 2006, 13:30   #1

Town: Lymington
Boat name: Farfetched
Make: Solent Ribs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235021048
Prudence and Speed

I am intrigued by the issues of how powerful an engine it is safe / prudent / wise even to put on a given hull.

When I bought my Solent, I was advised by the builder that a 150 Opti would be prefect and more than adequate for my needs. True, I was a newbie at the time, but I have taken her to exciting places (yes, I remember Ryde Sands, but don't forget coming back from Brighton or October off the Needles) and have found the engine more than adequate.

Granted, I don't pull water skiers or toys.

I can get 38 knots six up with a full tank of fuel. I can get 45 knots with two people on board and half a tank of fuel. Both averages over two directions so these are real GPS averages.

I use 1.1 lites per nautical mile, and seem to average that almost whatever I do.

Now the Jackeens have a larger engine and essentially a two occasional four seat set up. And oogopach now has an Etec 200 HO; faster still.

In a recent thread the Jackeen's boat was reported at 53 knots, and oogopatch was at 59 knots.

And remember, this is in a 6.5M rib.

Am I missing something or is it 'just' jealousy!!!!
Old 25 April 2006, 13:49   #2

Town: London
Boat name: XLR8
Make: Solent
Engine: Etec 200HO
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucehawsker
I am intrigued by the issues of how powerful an engine it is safe / prudent / wise even to put on a given hull.

When I bought my Solent, I was advised by the builder that a 150 Opti would be prefect and more than adequate for my needs. True, I was a newbie at the time, but I have taken her to exciting places (yes, I remember Ryde Sands, but don't forget coming back from Brighton or October off the Needles) and have found the engine more than adequate.

Granted, I don't pull water skiers or toys.