Old 30 July 2020, 21:33   #1

Town: Tavernier
Boat name: Flip-flop
Make: Avon
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 40HP
PolyMarine 2pt going off too fast, can't do thin coats

Hello, I have learned lots from reading posts but this is my first time having to ask a question.

I am trying to patch a blister/delamination on my 2006 Avon 360SE (pic below). My strategy was to cut a 3" round patch in half and glue it butted up to the seam. After it dries, I'll cover the whole area with a 6" round patch. I sanded and cleaned and prepped the area and back of the patch.

First time I mixed up the glue I painted some on the back of the patch but it as thickening up as I brushed it on and ended up being thick and leaving brush strokes. By the time I went to put it on the tube, it was lumpy and hard to work at all.

So I sanded off what was on the tube, got the other half of the 3" patch prepped and tried again, this time doing the mixing inside and mixing for a longer period. It went on a bit better - I managed to get some on both the tube and the patch fairly evenly - but still definitely not smooth, thin coats. So I said the heck with it and slapped the patch on the tube, figuring I I'll see tomorrow how well it seems to be sticking. If it's not secure, I'll just pull it off. I figure I'll be sanding the tube either way.

Any suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1367.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	108.9 KB
ID:	134443  
Old 30 July 2020, 21:58   #2

Town: Inverkip
Boat name: Crusader
Make: Redbay 8.4 Exped
Length: 8m +
Engine: yamaha sterndrive
RIBase
I did a PVC boat last week. It was outside, not very sunny windy and scotland and the glue went off in like 10 mins so I put the second round on and went mad with my steel spadger tool pressing it down. Worked a treat.