Old 29 September 2007, 13:30   #1

Town: Sussex
Length: 5m +
Please help me...

Hello,

I am new to boating and have until now been looking at buying a 20 foot bowrider with a 3 litre 130hp mercruider inboard. I was looking to spend upto 12k. I liked the bowrider as they are quick (about 35 knots), can pull toys, wakeboards in the warmer summer months and will also allow some fishing / swimming as well as the wife sunbathing lol.

My biggest downside to this option is the running cost. A 3 litre bowrider (smallest engine they come with) will only do about 1 mile per litre of fuel cruising at 3500 rpm, about 30 knots. That works out at about 5 MPG. The running/service costs of the inboard and legs etc also seem very high.

Now for why I am here >>>>>>>>>>.

I have always loved ribs and would much prefer one to anything else but am not sure they can offer what I need. I would really appreciate if anyone can answer a few questions:

1. May seem a stupid question but can you fish from one safely ? Hooks and air chambers ??

2. Would a 5-6 metre rib with a 60 hp outboard be able to handle a cross solent trip from Chichester to IOW (family live there) on a sensible calm day ?

3. Can anyone give me a rough idea on fuel usage for a 5/6 m rib with a 60 hp ?

4. I have seen a few ribs with a swim ladder on the back is this something that can be added to most to allow for summer swimming?

5. Is it possible to add fixings for pulling inflatables ?

6. I enjoy fishing a mile of so offshore. Given the amount of rain we get, are there any covers that could be fitted that would offer some rain protection to allow for fishing?

Sorry for all the questions but I am going round in circles trying to decide what the best boat for me is. I ned to be able to
1. swim from it
2. fish from it (ideally have a cover to protect from rain)
3. pull some toys
4. Go to IOW

Many thanks
Old 29 September 2007, 14:11   #2

Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Quote: