Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 June 2008, 23:29   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: ?
Make: Halmatic 28/Solent
Length: 8m +
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
Pacific or Artic

I have purchased ex MoD Artic 28 as a project, if i fit an inboard does it make it a pacific,
What speed will I get with 300hp?
anyone else taken on similar project?

Chubby
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0016.jpg
Views:	470
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	35251  
__________________

__________________
chubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 02:12   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,831
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubby View Post
I have purchased ex MoD Artic 28 as a project, if i fit an inboard does it make it a pacific,
What speed will I get with 300hp?
anyone else taken on similar project?

Chubby
No, don't think it make it a Pacific. Bloody hell thats a BIG project!
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 03:30   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW/SW/Nigeria
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 6m +
Engine: none
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 147
Send a message via MSN to Action Man
nope, wont make it a an pacific and as a bove rather you than me bloody hell.....good luck
__________________
Action Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 04:30   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,392
Woo. You're gonna have to do some clever grafting there to regain the longitudinal strength, chubby.

That hull is surprisingly thin.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 11:29   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: ?
Make: Halmatic 28/Solent
Length: 8m +
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
No, don't think it make it a Pacific. Bloody hell thats a BIG project!
Halmatic do a pacific 28 with 2 Yamaha 250hp Diesels!
__________________
Chubby
chubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 11:30   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: ?
Make: Halmatic 28/Solent
Length: 8m +
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubby View Post
I have purchased ex MoD Artic 28 as a project, if i fit an inboard does it make it a pacific,
What speed will I get with 300hp?
anyone else taken on similar project?

Chubby
anyone know where to get the white foam from its a sort of plastic, i am triny to rebuild as much as original as possible!
__________________
Chubby
chubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 13:09   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: llyn raider
Make: xs
Length: 7m +
Engine: 1 200hp merc
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 211
i wish you luck chubby and i hope they gave you that hull
__________________
andyxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 13:57   #8
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11,046
chubby - if the tubes are in reasonable nick - would you be more ecconomical to get a cheap hull with no/nackered tubes and combining the two boats to make one decent one?
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 15:50   #9
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,023
Theres a chap who has posted on here by the name of "twister", apparantly he is doing or is planning to do the same thing. Send him a PM and he might be able to help.

The white foam is just ordinary polyethylene closed cell foam. Best of luck to you!
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 17:00   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Near Bristol
Boat name: Titch ll
Make: Ribtec 5.85
Length: 5m +
Engine: Optimax 115
MMSI: 235054217
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubby View Post
I have purchased ex MoD Artic 28 as a project, if i fit an inboard does it make it a pacific,
What speed will I get with 300hp?
anyone else taken on similar project?

Chubby
Hmmm quite a project - wouldn't it be easier to slice off the back and call it a 6 meter

Anyway keep us posted and good luck.
__________________
Johnwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2008, 23:45   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: ?
Make: Halmatic 28/Solent
Length: 8m +
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
Theres a chap who has posted on here by the name of "twister", apparantly he is doing or is planning to do the same thing. Send him a PM and he might be able to help.

The white foam is just ordinary polyethylene closed cell foam. Best of luck to you!
what speed do you get from your Halmatic with outboards, i have all the engine electrics off mine which i will be bined if no one wants them, any use free to a good home
__________________
Chubby
chubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 June 2008, 14:20   #12
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubby View Post
what speed do you get from your Halmatic with outboards, i have all the engine electrics off mine which i will be bined if no one wants them, any use free to a good home
I'll let you know when I've finished building it! One thing I would take off your hands if you didnt have use for it is one of the big bolts that go thru the hull for the lifting eyes, I'm one short (don't ask)
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 June 2008, 23:28   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: ?
Make: Halmatic 28/Solent
Length: 8m +
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
I'll let you know when I've finished building it! One thing I would take off your hands if you didnt have use for it is one of the big bolts that go thru the hull for the lifting eyes, I'm one short (don't ask)
don't have any spare but will keep an eye out! when do you expect to have yours running?
__________________
Chubby
chubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 June 2008, 16:38   #14
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Scheveningen
Boat name: Stormmeeuw
Make: Halmatic
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo d6 330
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Lots of work to do , I see. I'm indeed converting an arctic to inboard, but with only one engine. I think it's best to rebuild your stringers, except the most middle longitudal one, mount the engine on a (S)steel frame, indicate how much room you need for batteries etc, take all the wood from the transom, put a new wooden transom in, glasfiber it and use a 2 component foam to regain strength in the hull. This is a very, very big project. Or you have to find two jets that fit the holes in the hull and make it a double diesel inboard.
I haven't got an idea what speed it will have with a 300, I've contacted Halmatic several times and they just won't answer. I'm doubting if the 315 ya,aha would be enough to use. I'm considering a yanmar 440hp with Konrad drive instead.

Good luck
__________________
Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 June 2008, 06:44   #15
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Scheveningen
Boat name: Stormmeeuw
Make: Halmatic
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo d6 330
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
What I do know is:
Outboard:
2x250=55knots
2x200= 46 knots

This was told to me by halmatic. A I said, no info about pacific inboards.

Twister
__________________
Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 June 2008, 14:10   #16
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubby View Post
don't have any spare but will keep an eye out! when do you expect to have yours running?
Hopefully end of july but depends on parts getting here and the length of the snagging list at the end!
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 June 2008, 12:19   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: ?
Make: Halmatic 28/Solent
Length: 8m +
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
getting there slowly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twister View Post
Lots of work to do , I see. I'm indeed converting an arctic to inboard, but with only one engine. I think it's best to rebuild your stringers, except the most middle longitudal one, mount the engine on a (S)steel frame, indicate how much room you need for batteries etc, take all the wood from the transom, put a new wooden transom in, glasfiber it and use a 2 component foam to regain strength in the hull. This is a very, very big project. Or you have to find two jets that fit the holes in the hull and make it a double diesel inboard.
I haven't got an idea what speed it will have with a 300, I've contacted Halmatic several times and they just won't answer. I'm doubting if the 315 ya,aha would be enough to use. I'm considering a yanmar 440hp with Konrad drive instead.

Good luck


i have already replaced the Transom and layed out the stringers will get them glassed in Tomorrow and the engine beds layed out, then Sat cut tramsom and offer the engine in to check everything!


how are you getting on with yours when do you expect to start using it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tempest 02.jpg
Views:	256
Size:	134.6 KB
ID:	35381  
__________________
Chubby
chubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 June 2008, 15:29   #18
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Scheveningen
Boat name: Stormmeeuw
Make: Halmatic
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo d6 330
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
I don't really know when we will be ready. First I have to decide which engine it will be. I'm trying to place the engine under the console and use a shaft to the stern.

Are you making it ready for single installation?
What hp/engine do you want to use?
__________________
Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 June 2008, 23:02   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: ?
Make: Halmatic 28/Solent
Length: 8m +
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twister View Post
I don't really know when we will be ready. First I have to decide which engine it will be. I'm trying to place the engine under the console and use a shaft to the stern.

Are you making it ready for single installation?
What hp/engine do you want to use?
i have a 300 d tronic bravo 3 waiting to drop in hopefully this week
__________________
Chubby
chubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 June 2008, 03:23   #20
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Scheveningen
Boat name: Stormmeeuw
Make: Halmatic
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo d6 330
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubby View Post
i have a 300 d tronic bravo 3 waiting to drop in hopefully this week
Ok, When do you think you will get it in the water then? I really want to know what your cruise & topspeed is with this engine.
__________________

__________________
Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.