Old 26 March 2021, 20:24   #1

Town: Cork
Boat name: DELIVERED
Make: Zodiac
Length: 6m +
Engine: OB Yamaha-F70
Newbe w/Zodiac RIB HELP "Water-in-Tube(s)"

Greetings. I am new to boating and new to RIB's. I just acquired a 18' Zodiac 550SRMN used. The primary issue is the port side tube/cone seam has separated +/-18" (4 o'clock to 8 o'clock) and I have sourced & scheduled a qualified repair facility to make the repair. In the mean time I am make other inspections & repairs to get the boat-trailer & engine ready.

During such I discovered water in the tube area (port side) forward of the damaged tube. I was able to look up the end of the damaged tube and notice what I'll guess is a cone baffle. This is connected at the area of the first IC valve and any water behind this valve in this area has drained out at the seam separation.

So it appears there is water resting in the tube area of the second and third IC valve (moving in a counter clockwise direction from port to starboard) blocked by the aforementioned internal baffle. I'm guessing +/- 5 gallons (19L) of water sloshing.

So far I disassembled the IC valve #2 & #3 and inserted a 1/4" dia. clear hose (6.35mm) 30" long (762mm) into the tube but I can't seem to reach the water. I blow into the tube and nothing. I connected a siphon extractor (hand squeeze) and nothing. I rigged up a tight fitting wet/dry vac and nothing. Picture attached of set up. (I tested the VAC with a cup of water and it does draw water) and the still no draw.

Can anyone explain how to extract this water? I can't turn the boat upside down.

Thanks In Advance!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AAA-Shopvac-reduced.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	113.9 KB
ID:	136698  
Old 28 March 2021, 20:04   #2

Town: Kingussie
Boat name: Puffin
Make: NorthCraft / XS
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mariner 60
MMSI: 232019541
The real question is how did the water get into the other sections of the tube ?