Old 18 August 2005, 06:58   #1

Town: cork
Length: no boat
new to ribs what to buy??

Hi lads, i only found this site couple of days ago wish i found it sooner. I have been looking through the archives section for advice but i cant get exactly what i'm looking altough some excellent reading there

Basically i'm completely new to boats and have very little or minimal expierence. I'm looking for a rib capable of carrying 2-3 people and pulling a skier to enjoy for the summer months. I'm fortunate enough to live close to both a river and sea and thought its time i should start to enjoy them.

as its my first rib my budget is minimal, can anyone recommend what size and engine size i should go for, also what brands to look for and what to steer clear from. also the general things to be aware of when buying.

i have plenty room to store it, i do all my own servicing for my work vehicles and machienery and car so i would hope to buy something which i can maintain myself.

sorry for being so long winded but what i'm looking for is a beginners boat which i wont get bore of or "grow out" of too quickly

All advice appreciated
Old 20 August 2005, 12:15   #2

Town: Newquay, Cornwall.
Boat name: None :(
Make: None :(
Length: 5m +
Engine: None :(
MMSI: None :(
what is your budget ?

If you are going to carry 2 or 3 people and want to pull a skier you are going to need at least 4 or 4.5 meters and a 60hp engine but this will have to be propped for skiing (ie low pitch) and not for speed as you will have no surplus power.

If you can afford bigger and have the room to store it and the car to pull it then ribs around the 6 meter mark with 90 - 150 hp will give you far more versatility opening up the posibilities of long cruising runs and taking more people and coping with harsher conditions.
roycruse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 August 2005, 12:25   #3

As far as manufacturers are concerned...