Old 28 April 2021, 19:38   #1

Town: London
Boat name: Gup-e
Make: Ribeye
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
New Rib - Any Views :-) ?

Good evening

This is my first post, so thanks for having me. I’m looking at buying a rib in the next few weeks for use on the south coast between weekends on the Solent and 2 week holidays in Devon.

We are a family of 4 with kids at 6 and 8. I would like something that can be dry stacked and I can use for 10 years and still be in good condition to either keep longer or sell later.

Budget is 100-150k and I’d like something I can leave without having too much maintenance.

My questions are should I go for a rib eg A811 ribeye or a stinger or a scorpion. I even considered day cruisers perhaps 2 years old to get into budget eg axopar cabin?

We are a family and I’d like something to grow with us.

Really appreciate your views as I’m new to this and we’re going to buy ready for summer.

All the best
Old 28 April 2021, 20:05   #2

Town: Pembroke
Boat name: Rapscallion
Make: Humber Destroyer 6.0
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-TEC 150
That's a very nice problem to have!
With that budget available, have you spoken to brokers on the Solent that might have a selection of candidate boats available and let you trial?
With kids of that age I'd be giving some serious consideration to something with a cabin or at least a wheelhouse both for reasons of safety and given the UK climate you'll probably find you'll get a lot more use out of the boat unless your family are unusually hardy!
You mentioned being based in the Solent but wanting to do weeks in Devon.....have you considered how you're going to get it there? If you're going to tow then that will clearly put a maximum size and weight limit on the boat (and may steer you away from a cabin / wheelhouse boat). If you're going to truck / cruise / delivery it down then clearly the towing restriction doesn't apply.

If you need a personal shopper then I'd be delighted to assist![emoji4][emoji4]