Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 06 January 2016, 01:43   #1

Town: Lusby, MD
Boat name: Bucephalus
Make: AVON
Length: 3m +
Engine: 6 HP
Looking to Purchase Avon Rover R3-10 - Any Thoughts?

I'm new to the RIB world. Wanted an inflatable to putz around the Chesapeake Bay where I live. I came across an Avon rover R3-10 (1990) in very good condition for around $500 but I don't know much about this model. I was thinking about pairing it up with a 6HP 4 stroke Tahatsu. Does this motor sound about right for this dinghy? The dinghy can take up to a 10HP motor. Anyway, any thoughts would be greatly appreciated as this is my first time around. Also, any recommendations on transom beach wheels would also be greatly appreciated. Thanks,

DC
Old 06 January 2016, 07:32   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
A couple of years ago I owned a mint one of these. Hypalon made and would last a lifetime.

A 6hp would be fine and should plane OK one up, perhaps even two up it light weight folks. 10hp would be a lot better though but they get much heavier usually.

Only downside for me was compared with a more modern design the tubes are small and the bow sits flat so they take on loads of spray/water when it's choppy. For their size they feel smaller to be in than the sort of designs that are common from around 2000 onwards.

This was mine and the Trem brand wheels I had fitted...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Avon Rover 3.1.jpg
Views:	3543
Size:	152.5 KB
ID:	110246   Click image for larger version

Name:	Avon Trem wheels.jpg
Views:	1310
Size:	179.6 KB
ID:	110247  
Old 06 January 2016, 10:32   #3

I love those wheels. The owner said he'd throw in a 6 hp Tohatsu with only 4 hrs on it for $1300 total, RIB included. Wish it were an 8 HP but then price jumps too. Yours looks really nice. Glad to hear they last a while.
Old 06 January 2016, 11:30   #4