Click Here to Login

Old 10 February 2006, 15:52   #1

Town: London
Boat name: Jigsaw2
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu
Launching Sites near East London??

As I am new to RIB's, having just bought a Zodiac 4.7, I am keen to try it out. We live in East London and are trying to identify launch sites where we can trial the new boat. Any suggestions? I would be particularly interested to here of any inland, non-tidal, launch sites locally where we can debug the boat without the danger of ending up in Belgium if it anything breaks.

My brother is suggesting Two Tree Island near Canvey for an early Sunday launch this weekend, anybody used this slip or can suggest local option that might serve a novice??

Although I am new to RIB's I have been playing with large yachts for years so I am familar with col regs, tides, etc the bit that is new is the management of a power driven vessel, particularly launch and recovery. I am more used to 12 metre yachts than small RIB's.

Many Thanks

Paul.
Old 10 February 2006, 16:07   #2

Town: mansfield
Length: no boat
Send a message via MSN to osprey__viper
Not familiar with where you intend to launch. But try this. An excellent resource. http://www.boatlaunch.co.uk/

Oh and welcome to rib-net
Old 10 February 2006, 16:32   #3
JCW

Town: Essex
Boat name: Inflatable
Length: under 3m
Engine: Yamaha F6
Send a message via AIM to JCW
Paul,
I have used two tree island on a number of occasions.
The slip has a very gentle slope so you will need to detach the trailer when launching and attach a rope when recovering. At HW you can launch off the side of the slip without the need to unhook the trailer.
Check your charts of the area and follow the Ray gut to Southend pier and you have + or - 3.5 hrs HW to launch and recover.

An alternative in the Southend area is Thorpe bay, much steeper but sandy so you will need a 4x4.

Another option is the slip next to Poplar rowing club on the lsle of dogs, this is probably nearer to you as well.