Old 23 July 2021, 18:28   #1

Town: Gloucestershire
Length: 7m +
Landing on the beach

I am fairly new to boating in the UK and have hired a rib for a couple of days in August before hopefully purchasing next year. I didn't ask this question during my PB2 and it didn't come up in conversation:

What are the rules for landing on a beach in the UK? Especially beaches that might have lifeguards and are busy?

I will be taking 5-7 people out for day trips (including children) and it would be nice to get my passengers onto the beach for a picnic without either a kayak or swim to shore from the anchorage
Old 23 July 2021, 19:29   #2

Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: S/R5.4/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: Suzukidf70 2x6lp 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamSam View Post
I am fairly new to boating in the UK and have hired a rib for a couple of days in August before hopefully purchasing next year. I didn't ask this question during my PB2 and it didn't come up in conversation:

What are the rules for landing on a beach in the UK? Especially beaches that might have lifeguards and are busy?

I will be taking 5-7 people out for day trips (including children) and it would be nice to get my passengers onto the beach for a picnic without either a kayak or swim to shore from the anchorage
No specific rules on most beaches unless they have local swimming only areas.we regularly beach with the kids & if its a reasonably steep beach we can usually nose up and jump over the bow without getting wet feet just nose in half trimmed up.
If its a shallow beach then you have to get wet up to your knees.
Obviously try and avoid coming into a beach that is mobbed with swimmers & paddlers
Old 23 July 2021, 20:03   #3

Thanks for the reply! Does a beach with lifeguards and bathing flags make any difference? Do beach lifeguards have a regular VHF channel you can call them on to make sure you can come in safely?
Old 23 July 2021, 20:24   #4

Town: north ayrshire