Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 December 2021, 06:29   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Farnham
Boat name: Bluey
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 75 2 stroke
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 66
Humber Destroyer - Transducer

Hi All,

I picked up a new Humber Destroyer 5.3 last week and am about to start fitting it out.

Have a Lowrance Hook plotter / fish finder which I had fitted to my old Ribtec and will be fitting it to the new boat.

The installation manual for the Lowrance says ideally to fit the transducer next to a chine. There aren't many on a Destroyer!

Have circled where I think the best place would be to install it with regard to the manual; but wandered whether this is going to be too high / out the water when planing.

Wandered if anyone else has installed a transducer on the transom of a Destroyer and if so where?

Thanks

Hartley
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7120 copy.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	129.6 KB
ID:	139370  
__________________

__________________
HMJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 December 2021, 07:08   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheltenham
Boat name: Mavi Su
Make: Cobra Nautique 6.6
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150
MMSI: 235114058
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 319
RIBase
That looks right to me, but I'd install a thru Hull model if you can.
__________________

__________________
You Can't cross an Ocean unless you have lost site of shore.
charliee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 December 2021, 07:29   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Pembroke
Boat name: Rapscallion
Make: Humber Destroyer 6.0
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 150 HPDI
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 252
That's about where mine is but I'll take a pic when I'm home on the weekend.
__________________
Jon Tallis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 December 2021, 07:33   #4
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10,902
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliee View Post
That looks right to me, but I'd install a thru Hull model if you can.


^^^^^wot he said
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 December 2021, 07:48   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nottinghamshire
Make: Ranieri 15
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF50
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,130
Beautiful deep V. Any location from the chine and lower should suffice. As mentioned, a through hull is best or you can mount your existing transducer with epoxy in the bilge. I found this works great and reliably to max speed, made a little plasticine dam to hold the epoxy until it went off.
__________________
Limecc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 December 2021, 08:10   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Farnham
Boat name: Bluey
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 75 2 stroke
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 66
Great - thanks all.

I didn't specify an access hatch to the hull or any under deck trunking, as quite like all cables etc above deck. Know thats not to everyones taste, but like the ease of access to everything.

So three choices I guess - sounds like it will work where have marked, cut an access hatch in the deck or see if it will fit in the bilge.

Quite like the idea of the bilge (thank you for that - hadn't thought of it), as no issues with damaging it if beached etc and also means I don't have to install an access hatch in the deck.

Jon - thank you for an offer of a photo where yours is - would be great as may still go with the transom option.

Cheers
__________________
HMJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 December 2021, 15:50   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7,085
RIBase
https://support.garmin.com/en-GB/?fa...S15IjHg6mm7Od7

I’ve always followed the manufacturers recommendations with no problems
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2021, 01:44   #8
Member
 
beerbelly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: teesside
Boat name: magic
Make: humber 5.5
Length: 5m +
Engine: mariner 115
MMSI: 232012453
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,363
mine is slightly lower than your pic and works fine until about 25 knots where i lose the bottom signal.i mounted mine to a shaped piece of black perspex ( my hull is black ) then bonded the perspex to the hull as i didnt want to drill my shiney new hull ( i did the same as you bought a bare hull and fitted it out myself )
__________________
beerbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2021, 01:49   #9
Member
 
beerbelly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: teesside
Boat name: magic
Make: humber 5.5
Length: 5m +
Engine: mariner 115
MMSI: 232012453
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,363
pic of mine
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail_20201010_174254.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	98.5 KB
ID:	139371  
__________________
beerbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2021, 07:00   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Farnham
Boat name: Bluey
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 75 2 stroke
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 66
Thanks Beerbelly - helpful to see where yours is an working
__________________
HMJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2021, 07:10   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nottinghamshire
Make: Ranieri 15
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF50
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by HMJB View Post
Thanks Beerbelly - helpful to see where yours is an working
Useful but not fully working >25kn.

Probably due to disturbed water as it exits the hull, the supplied bracket (+ perspex) places the transducer several inches away from the transom and the further the more chance it will see air. This is why through-the-hull works best.

Don't know how a stepped hull would fare as it deliberately introduces a cushion of air, but that's not a concern with a Humber.
__________________
Limecc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2021, 07:58   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Pembroke
Boat name: Rapscallion
Make: Humber Destroyer 6.0
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 150 HPDI
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 252
Photo of mine as promised.
Mounted dead on the chine as you'd planned. The underside of the skimmer is level with the bottom of the chine and has always worked perfectly at all forward speeds. Does however throw an occasional wobbly in reverse probably due to aerated water under the transducer.
Agree a through-hull (or direct bonded) probably the best solution but in my experience this works perfectly well.Click image for larger version

Name:	PXL_20211202_123245277.MP.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	153.8 KB
ID:	139377Click image for larger version

Name:	PXL_20211202_123252067.MP.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	155.6 KB
ID:	139378
__________________
Jon Tallis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2021, 09:46   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Farnham
Boat name: Bluey
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 75 2 stroke
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 66
Thanks Jon - really helpful.

Just had a look in the bilge / sump and plenty of room there so could definitely be an option. Read a few accounts online of people securing with sikaflex (if can successfully ensure there are no bubbles) or the like, which could be an option. Then could remove it more easily if / when it breaks. Slightly concerned that if epoxied in, it would be pretty tricky to remove without making a mess of the gel coat.

Think may have a go at that and see if it works and if not move to the transom in the same place as Jon.

Ultimately would be great to have it inboard, but not to have to cut the deck, so if there is an option which works then I think worth looking at.
__________________
HMJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2021, 10:07   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nottinghamshire
Make: Ranieri 15
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF50
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,130
Before I used epoxy I fixed it with silicon and it worked but not at speed. When I removed it there was an air bubble but I wasn't sure it was the best stuff to use, maybe attenuating the pings.

I think it might be possible to use a paint or release agent on the transducer and hull to assist any future separation but I'm firmly in the epoxy camp regarding it being the best thing to use. Previous owner used metal putty. Maybe Plaster of Paris could also work?

For testing a thin freezer/food bag filled with vegetable oil or glycerine apparently works. Put the transducer in that and move it around in the bilge?
__________________
Limecc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2021, 10:38   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: SMH Rib / War Shot
Make: Ribtec / Scorpion
Length: 4m +
Engine: 100hp Yam/150hp opt
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,050
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limecc View Post
Before I used epoxy I fixed it with silicon and it worked but not at speed. When I removed it there was an air bubble but I wasn't sure it was the best stuff to use, maybe attenuating the pings.

I think it might be possible to use a paint or release agent on the transducer and hull to assist any future separation but I'm firmly in the epoxy camp regarding it being the best thing to use. Previous owner used metal putty. Maybe Plaster of Paris could also work?

For testing a thin freezer/food bag filled with vegetable oil or glycerine apparently works. Put the transducer in that and move it around in the bilge?
Back in "The Olden Days" there was really only the Seafarer echosounder. This had a circular transducer which you could either through hull mount or mount inside the hull.
The normal way to mount inside the hull was to bond a section of 1 1/4" waste pipe to the hull, put an inch or so of vegetable oil into it and simply drop the transducer into the pipe. The oil acoustically coupled the transducer the the hull.
I don't think Sikaflex had been invented back then!
When mounting a transducer in the hull the aim is to have no bubbles in the medium you are using to secure it and for that medium to have as little attenuating effect on the signal as possible - make the transducer as close a fit to the hull as possible.
__________________
Searider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 December 2021, 08:44   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: North Lincolnshire
Boat name: Mary Olwen
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: OB, Petrol, 140HP
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 142
My Destroyer has the (Garmin) transducer mounted in that area but on the port side. It works reliably at all speeds.
__________________
Dry_Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 December 2021, 12:32   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Pembroke
Boat name: Rapscallion
Make: Humber Destroyer 6.0
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 150 HPDI
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 252
I have the log wheel on the port side and sonar / depth on stbd - both on the chine. Only photod the sonar as that was the OP's query. For ref the log works perfectly too - well it did until the lowrance head unit (now probably 15yrs old), stopped talking to it
__________________

__________________
Jon Tallis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.