Old 13 June 2004, 14:33   #1

Town: Plymouth, Devon
Boat name: What?!
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30hp
HELP wanted buying 1st RIB!

Hello all,

I'm tentatively looking into the 'world of RIBs' to see what all the fuss is about.

I am looking at buying my first RIB with motor, to potter, pull doughnuts behind and possibly pull a water ski/wakeboard.
I am an utter beginner with regards RIBs but not new to open water or surf.

What im after is any direction regarding how much to spend on first RIB, what best, places to buy, clubs etc.

Any help or advice to set me off would be great.

BTW, I live in Plymouth, Devon, (God's Country!) Ride motorbikes and wonder if owning a RIB might move me away from biking, for a change.

Tim
Old 13 June 2004, 14:52   #2

Town: Lymington
Boat name: Farfetched
Make: Solent Ribs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235021048
Hi

Hi Tim, and welcome to RIBnet.

The first question has to be budget. You will get loads of advice on this forum, but most people are on the water this weekend.

Give us an idea of what you might be thinking of spending, if you will, and then we can try to help.

Cheers

Bruce
Old 13 June 2004, 17:38   #3

Town: Chelmsford/Anglesey
Make: Avon SR/RibLite 3.1m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda 30hp/Yam 8hp
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmy
I...Ride motorbikes and wonder if owning a RIB might move me away from biking, for a change.
I also ride motorbikes (Ducati 916) and as much fun as RIBs are, don't think for one moment they'll match the adrenalin fix of a Superbike regardless of what size outboard is fitted; but that's not really the point - after all there are no Volvos to pull out on you or cow shit to slide on when you're on the water and in that respect you'll find a RIB an altogether more relaxing experience! View them as a complementary hobby rather than a replacement for a bike.