Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 October 2012, 15:00   #1
Member
 
lukewhiting's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanage
Make: Thundercat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 965
Gopro hero 3??

Looking at facebook and their recent posts looks like the hero 3 is about to be annouced!!! Theres a press confrence going on tonight so should find out soon! In their newest facebook photos you can see what looks to be the new camera! its thinner and black...and thats all i know!

You can see one on the side of the bikers helmet & bottom left of the base jumpers photo theres one!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	576313_10151250096741919_2094098572_n.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	201.0 KB
ID:	73301   Click image for larger version

Name:	404103_10151250499306919_445572335_n.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	58.4 KB
ID:	73302  
__________________

__________________
lukewhiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2012, 15:05   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,041
Is it the right time to sell the hero2 ?
__________________

__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2012, 15:06   #3
Member
 
lukewhiting's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanage
Make: Thundercat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 965
Quote:
Originally Posted by whisper View Post
Is it the right time to sell the hero2 ?
your hero2?
__________________
lukewhiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2012, 15:06   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,041
Yeah.
__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2012, 15:10   #5
Member
 
lukewhiting's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanage
Make: Thundercat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 965
i dunno really. I think ill keep my hero2 & save up for a hero3 when its for sale & have 2 cameras on the go!
__________________
lukewhiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2012, 02:02   #6
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Jeez, only just got my head around the menu and settings of the HERO2 and it's eye sight test microscopic menu screen. And the HERO3 is smaller? Mind you the iPhone app helps a lot in setting it up (assuming you'd want to take an iPhone on a RIB)
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2012, 04:03   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
Here is the official info
HERO3 Cameras | More Powerful in Every Way | Most Advanced GoPro
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2012, 11:56   #8
Member
 
lukewhiting's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanage
Make: Thundercat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 965
From the pictures the menu looks similar. I think if i get one itll have to be the black edition to make it worth it cause of the wifi & better qualities! The other 2 are just slightly upgraded version of the hero2
__________________
lukewhiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2012, 12:41   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,159
Looks like a H2 with wifi - plus another video mode, I never noticed much difference between the H1 and H2 - app looks cool though.

edit, the app is very cool, the preview lags by about 4 seconds and resolution not great but the ability to change all the settings on your phone is excellent.
__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2012, 14:33   #10
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas
resolution not great
Is that with an Android phone?
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2012, 15:36   #11
Member
 
lukewhiting's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanage
Make: Thundercat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 965
I dont think its out on andriod yet. i know its definatly out for iphones but havent checked for andriod yet
__________________
lukewhiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2012, 16:06   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,159
iPad and iPhone, I bought the wifi pack I'm the summer thinking the app was available then, been a long wait, worth it though.
__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2012, 16:27   #13
Member
 
lukewhiting's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanage
Make: Thundercat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 965
It does look great! Cant wait to get the new one though with it built in!
__________________
lukewhiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2012, 23:11   #14
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
iPad and iPhone, I bought the wifi pack I'm the summer thinking the app was available then, been a long wait, worth it though.
Yeah, it's very good
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 October 2012, 04:11   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by whisper View Post
Is it the right time to sell the hero2 ?
Yep - I'll stick £10 in the post ....

I'll stick with my Veho for now...Any ideas of the cost of the GP3 ...do I need to sell a boat to buy one ?
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 October 2012, 04:17   #16
Member
 
lukewhiting's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanage
Make: Thundercat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 965
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterM

Yep - I'll stick £10 in the post ....

I'll stick with my Veho for now...Any ideas of the cost of the GP3 ...do I need to sell a boat to buy one ?
Errr well for the black edition its £360!! But the other 2 versions without wifi are alot cheaper
__________________
lukewhiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 October 2012, 08:21   #17
Member
 
longjohn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bournemouth
Boat name: Seadrive
Make: Capelli Tempest 470
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF70
MMSI: 235079113
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 548
I think all the 3's have wifi - only the Black comes with the remote tho - but all will work with the IOS/Android app - thats what it sounds like anyway
__________________
longjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 October 2012, 08:26   #18
Member
 
lukewhiting's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanage
Make: Thundercat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 965
Just looked & if you directly by the black edition from the gopro website it ends up costing £275 including postage which is alot better!
__________________
lukewhiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 October 2012, 08:26   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,159
The 3 is only only Windows and the 2 is both Mac and Windows, I'll keep my 2.
__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 October 2012, 09:22   #20
Member
 
longjohn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bournemouth
Boat name: Seadrive
Make: Capelli Tempest 470
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF70
MMSI: 235079113
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
The 3 is only Windows and the 2 is both Mac and Windows, I'll keep my 2.
You are wrong there - quite clearly states that the 3 is both Windows & Mac compatible:
Microsoft Windows® Vista, 7 and later
Mac OS® X 10.5 and later

- If anything they are more compatible with MAC as all the formats of photo, video & sound are actually native MAC formats: ie jpg photo, H.264 codec .mp4 video & AAC audio

But they are pretty universal over both MAC & Windows of more or less any age with suitable players/software
__________________

__________________
longjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.