Town: Gloucester
Boat name: Queen of Crail
Make: Europa
Length: 5m +
Engine: 50
Flooded hull

Hi
I am new to boating and would appreciate some help
I have recently purchased a tohatsu t520 rib which I believe to be a rebadged europa r520.

I have had the boat in the water for a week, having just taken the boat out of the water I noticed how heavy the boat was.
After investigation I found a brass circular disk at the back of the boat that was weeping water, not free flowing in anyway. I could not get the center threaded section to undo so I took the three screws out. An hour later the hull was drained.

Why did it take on so much water , there were no obvious signs of water leaking from anywhere else so assume there is not a breach in the hull

Should I put the plate back on and try and get the threaded section out? Do I add sone sealant and put everything back in place ?

When I put it back in the water do I run with this open or closed ? In or out ?

The deck has a separate bulge pump so no issues with above the hull area

Any help or advice would be gratefully received
Old 31 August 2019, 08:12   #2

Town: penzance
Boat name: not named
Make: ski boat
Engine: 150 HPDI
Before sealing it up I'd suggest you prod around looking for soft damp wood in the transom. You could try to establish where the water is coming from, starting by establishing if it's from above or below. A hosepipe whilst on a trailer, vs dropping in the water for a few hours on a dry day.
Old 31 August 2019, 08:15   #3

Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: S/R5.4/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: Suzukidf70 2x6lp 315
That sounds like a drain bung id buy a new one and refit it
Its unlikely thats your leak path but without the facility to drain the chamber you will never know if it is leaking
Old 31 August 2019, 08:46   #4

Length: 3m +
A similar question was asked last week:

http://www.rib.net/forum/f8/hull-fil...hts-82188.html