Old 25 November 2013, 12:12   #1

Town: Bangor, North Wales
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Evinrude 70hp OB
Engine for project rib

I am just beginning to think about an engine for the project rib. There is no rush at all as I don't expect to get the project rib on the water until next autumn as the current baby rib is doing fine and the project is a big job. (The baby rib is a Narwhal, so great until the tubes self-destruct...) So what I am looking for are tips on buying a cheap/older engine that is not dodgy or hot (in the illegal sense!) I am probably looking for some thing in the region of 40-60HP, but would welcome advice on the ideal size. (The rib was rated for 90HP, but de-rating it a bit after I have stuck the back on again seems wise and anyway, I want an engine that is big enough rather than a massive fuel bill!) The project rib is a Wildcat 5.3m if that means anything, it seems a pretty light weight, light duty, shallow V hull, so probably easily driven. I am sure its sea keeping will be sufficient for my needs, it will mainly be used as a rescue boat.

All the best

David
Old 25 November 2013, 12:21   #2

Town: Glasgow
Boat name: Thunder
Make: Halmatic Arctic 22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2 x 150 Etec
My advice would be to make sure its not underpowered, if it is you'll end up using more fuel trying to keep it going at full throttle than having a bigger engine that runs at 3\4 throttle.
Old 25 November 2013, 12:36   #3

GordyP, what power do you think would be adequate for a 5.3m shallow V?

When it is being a rescue boat it will probably spend a lot of time below plaining speed and just idling, which is where a big engine will probably hurt? I should think that it won't be used enough to really matter regardless.

I do like the efficiency of the baby Narwhal rib (25HP, 3.8m?) - very cheap fun indeed compared to what I am hearing for the larger ribs here! Two boarding sessions and still fuel in the 15lt tank!

All the best

David