Old 17 June 2020, 14:12   #1

Town: Fareham
Boat name: Red Dog
Make: Porters Renegade
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 HP Yamaha
Electrical issue?

Hi Guys

I am looking for some advice around an electrical issue.

Last year I noticed that there was an intermittent fault with my Fusion (music) radio. On occasions the sound would just stop and then come back to life when it felt like it, did not use it too much so was never really a big concern.

This year the plotter screen has started to flicker, however if I operate the tilt/trim is stops flickering instantly, then starts again as soon as the tilt/trim is released. The tilt/trim switch sometimes starts the radio as well so there must be some connection.

Any ideas, please note I am not an electrician so any advice will need to be simple?

Thanks in advance.

Andy
Old 17 June 2020, 14:29   #2

Make: Zodiac
Length: under 3m
Engine: Scull
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wightdiver View Post
Hi Guys

I am looking for some advice around an electrical issue.

Last year I noticed that there was an intermittent fault with my Fusion (music) radio. On occasions the sound would just stop and then come back to life when it felt like it, did not use it too much so was never really a big concern.

This year the plotter screen has started to flicker, however if I operate the tilt/trim is stops flickering instantly, then starts again as soon as the tilt/trim is released. The tilt/trim switch sometimes starts the radio as well so there must be some connection.

Any ideas, please note I am not an electrician so any advice will need to be simple?

Thanks in advance.

Andy
Bad ( corroded ) earth would be my bet
Old 17 June 2020, 14:44   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fender View Post
Bad ( corroded ) earth would be my bet
Thanks, as the plotter only has a + and - wire I assume that the earth is a boat earth, any idea where I would start to look?
Old 17 June 2020, 15:47   #4

Town: Barnstaple
Length: 7m +
Quote: