Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 18 March 2021, 21:11   #1

Length: 5m +
Donegal/ Rathlin Rib Trips, Advice on sea worthiness and gaining experience

Hello I have been a bit of a pest on here recently with questions about ribs. Finally bit the bullet and bought one!

Its a circa 2003 5.5m Humber with a 60hp Yamaha FEO 2 stroke. 4hp auxillary. Will do 28 mph fully loaded and 32mph light load on flat lake conditions. VHF radio, all safety gear.

In regards to experience I have my level 2 powerboating 2 years full time experience driving a Mastercraft for a watersports company in the states, a decent amount of sea kayaking experience and a bit of an outdoors man. I also work as an Emergency Department doctor so I like to think I'm a sensible enough chap for 27

90% of my boating experience is on lakes. I have always wanted to bring a rib to some islands off the coast of Donegal / Rathlin. With a lightweight camping setup.

My concerns are my boat has quite a shallow hull and its not bursting with power.

I am learning alot about tides and weather paterns (have a decent understanding at present). Practicing handling my RIB in loch erne and edging into the broad loch for some practice with waves.

Would a vessel of this size and spec be capable of a 10mile trip offshore to an island? (Obviously any vessel would in the flat, but what kind of conditions would it not be capable for?)

Can anyone else recommend ways of gaining experience on the sea, Ideally I would love to go out with someone else and shadow them/ supply beer/ petrol tokens to them. (If anyone is every around the North coast of Ireland / Donegal hit me up!

Lastly if anyone can recommend any good islands to visit, with a decent slipway (suitable for a 2l Passat) that would be great.

Im already hooked and planning a bigger rib (Dangerous game to be at this on the wallet). However finance and other half's dictate ill have this one for some time.