Old 16 July 2004, 13:06   #1

Town: Cardiff
Boat name: Sea Dog
Make: Avon
Length: 4m
Engine: Merc' 25hp
DIY Console & Seat

I have finally got around to starting my DIY console project. To date I now have the console constructed using a 38x38 timber frame clad with ply. (loads of screws & gallons of PVA adhesive). I now intend to sheath (I think thats what it's called) this inside & out with glass fibre. Questions: 1) How many layers should I use. 2) What weight CSM would you recommend. 3) When I order the resin does the catalyst come with it, or do I order separately. 4) Any suggestions on applying the finishing coat in order to get the best finish. I realise I am going to get an orange peel effect, but would like to minimise this. Hope you can help.
Old 16 July 2004, 17:24   #2

Town: I.O.W/Switzerland
Boat name: HotShot
Make: shakey
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Tohatsu TLDI
Yo,

I'm no expert and have never done it myself but I can offer the follwing advise whihc may or may not be a load of crap (i'm sure the clever folk of this forum will correct me if I get it wrong).

Have a look at www.cfsnet.co.uk for all GRP supplies. They're cheap (their prices on the web are however EX VAT) and there resins come with catalysts.

I don't really know how many layers you should apply but it sounds as if the plywood shell would be enough on its own to stand up to all the forces involved? If this is the case then I would say only 1 or 2 layers of 300 or 450gsm CSM. Or maybe 2 on the outside and 1 inside. This way the wood will be encapsulated and impervious to water etc.