Old 22 December 2019, 18:49   #1

Town: Kailua Kona
Boat name: No Problem
Make: Merritt
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard
Difference between Willard 700 vs 730 and Hurricane 733

Hello and merry x-mas (almost).

I am new to the form/site, but have spent some time lurking. I have some basic questions, but have found the information very hard to come by. If anyone can help, that would be great. My wife and I are in the market for (2) project RIBS in the 7M range. Both of these boats will need to hold a COI for 14 Pax. Both will need to be documented with the USCG. We are looking at the Willard platform and the hurricane platform to build from. however we need more info so we can make a decisions of what the purchase (used).

What is the difference in the Willard 700 vs the 730? The specs sheet shows an almost identical boat. the 700 can carry more PAX, the 730 a bit faster. How can one tell the difference from pictures? I have looked at one advertised 730, but upon close inspection it was a 700 (placard had a 18 Pax certification on it). Our the hulls identical? just a difference in engine/fuel packages? Does Willard have a registry where you can look up the HIN or does anyone know how to decode the HIN? I have emailed them, but information appears to be slow coming. What year hulls should be avoided if any? Difference in tubes over the years? I guess simply stated, what would be the best year hull to build a tour boat off of?

I ask all these same questions on the hurricane 733. I have read that the construction is a bit more unreliable.

Any feed back would be great. We are planning on doing a tear down and rebuild with the USCG for the COI. We are obviously in the market, so please let me know if you have anything to sell as well. Also, would be interested in a 9M or 11M RIB for the right price. We are looking for projects. Fiberglass hulls only.

Have a great rest of your weekend.

RB.
Old 24 December 2019, 19:06   #2
ncp

Town: California
Make: Avon 5.4m Searider