Old 23 November 2008, 03:32   #1

Town: Bay Area, CA
Make: Searider 4m and 5.4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 50hp
Avon Searider 5.4 A Frame

Hello,
I just recently picked up an older SR5.4. I am stepping up from my SR4. I am just beginning to build an A Frame for it. I am planning on fabricating it out of stainless steel tubing. I was planning on 1.5in diameter (31.8mm) tubing. I considered 2in, (50.8mm) it seems a little big, but I am still open to it.
What size wall thickness is common for A Frames? Any suggestions on diameter?
If anyone has some pictures or drawing of other A frames, that would be appreciated. I have searched the site and google so I have a few. I have made some sketches which I can post later for comment. Thanks for the help.
Old 23 November 2008, 09:27   #2

Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Depends on how you design it and what you want from it.

For a single hoop, provided it's not too tall, you should be ok with 1.5", but personally, I'd go for 2", with 1.6mm or 2.0 mm wall. The problem with 2", is that less people are able to bend the tubing, whereas 1.5" tends to be no problem. You can buy pre-formed bends and weld these to straight tube sections if this is a problem. Don't even think about towing off a single hoop A-frame.

For a twin hoop design, 1.5" OD, 1.6mm wall would be fine, but if you want to tow a skier/wakeboarder off it, then, you'll need 2"OD, 2mm wall, with the forward hoop fixed to the deck/hull.

Would be good to see your sketches.
Old 24 November 2008, 00:59   #3