Old 08 November 2004, 19:02   #1

Town: IoW
Make: HysuCat 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha 70 2s
am i being realistic

hi,
i am fairly new to this ribbing thing, but have decided that i want one! i have sorta decided that i want a searider, 4meter or 4.7metre with a decent engine, but i only have about £3000 to spend. am i being realistic, or do i need a bigger budget? i don't need to buy any oilskins/lifejackets etc, because i already have some for sailing. parking isn't a problem either.

thanks
Old 08 November 2004, 19:17   #2

Town: Côte d'Azur
Boat name: Beaver Patrol
Make: Avon Searider SR4
Length: 4m +
I don't think that's asking too much. Ebay is always good for bargins, although you do sometimes need to be careful. However, I have bought various boats off ebay including my RIB and have never had any trouble.

There are loads of cheap sea-riders on there at the moment, most with engines. Might be worth going to have a look before you buy but I think that's your best bet.

Tim
Old 08 November 2004, 19:29   #3

Town: Côte d'Azur
Boat name: Beaver Patrol
Make: Avon Searider SR4
I just had a look at ebay: this is slightly above your budget but this package looks very nice. The engine looks very nice:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...sPageName=WDVW

Only disadvantage is that it's got "those" seats - I prefer a jockey seat.
Old 08 November 2004, 19:31   #4

Town: New Forest
Boat name: Charlie Brown
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 275 Verado
MMSI: 235069179
Send a message via MSN to Zippy
In my very limited experience i think you are about right.

I was in the same position a few weeks ago and but took the plunge and spent a little but more and bought a nice 5.1 m rib with decent 4 stroke engine. Had to compromise a bit with equiment so will be looking to get an A frame and electrics sorted over the winter.

http://www.boatsandoutboards.co.uk/view/F49947/