Old 13 March 2008, 13:34   #1

Make: very little ribtec
Length: under 3m
Engine: Johnson 15hp
Advice wanted please..

Hi everyone. I'm new to ribs and have recently bought a Ribtec 290 (supposedly ex-demo) and a Johnson 15hp 2-stroke to go on the back of it. I bought it as a tender that is small enough to row when I want (just for a short distance out to my sailing boat) or to have a bit of fun playing with if the mood takes me. I've a couple of questions though: with such a short rib with 15hp on the back is it likely to flip backwards, and would doelfins or 'lifters' help stop any such tendancy?
I'm also thinking that a set of transom wheels would be useful - any recommendations?
many thanks in advance,
Nick
Old 13 March 2008, 13:47   #2

Town: Lima-Peru
Boat name: Nautile
Make: Sea Rider 450 Rib
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 5/18/30 HP
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickd View Post
Hi everyone. I'm new to ribs and have recently bought a Ribtec 290 (supposedly ex-demo) and a Johnson 15hp 2-stroke to go on the back of it. I bought it as a tender that is small enough to row when I want (just for a short distance out to my sailing boat) or to have a bit of fun playing with if the mood takes me. I've a couple of questions though: with such a short rib with 15hp on the back is it likely to flip backwards, and would doelfins or 'lifters' help stop any such tendancy?
I'm also thinking that a set of transom wheels would be useful - any recommendations?
many thanks in advance,
Nick
Probably a 100 HP will flip your sib, impossible with the current setting, transom wheels can help a lot specially on sand at the beach. Anyway balance your rib weight properly to avoid excesive bow rise when beginning to plane and adjust your trim angle as required for good rib performance.

Happy Boating
Old 13 March 2008, 14:00   #3

Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
nick, where did you buy your Ribtec from?
Old 13 March 2008, 14:19   #4