Kaz

Town: Bridgwater
Boat name: Dory
Make: Avon searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard yamaha 30hp
Advice on type of rib to buy needed

Hi peeps,

I am looking to buy my first boat and would like a rib cos i love them, but being a novice i need some advice on whether to get a rigid or inflatable keel. I want to go out in seas with waves, i want to have some speed fun and go out a mile ish offshore. I will have it on a trailer and dont intend to deflate it. I can get an inflatable in better condition and cheaper in price, but im not sure if all the above would suit it?

This is the write up for one im looking at, any advice would be greatly received.

Honwave big tube inflatable four meter boat aluminium floor inflatable keel center steering console electric pump two grab rails Yamaha 30 hp two stroke manual outboard 25 l fuel tank radar arch gps and fish finder auxiliary bracket whole ark trailer new bearings and tires very stable

http://www.gumtree.com/p/boats-kayak...rib/1303106942

Tahnks. Kaz
Old 24 June 2018, 19:41   #2

Length: 3m +
Not many people will recommend a SIB (inflatable keel) if you are simply going to use it like a RIB (hard hull).

The biggest advantage is not having to trail it / storage.

The other advantages may be lighter weight = lighter engine = less fuel and cheaper costs.

The disadvantages are longer set up if not trailing it. Floor more prone to damage from rocks etc and if damage occurs needs a better fix than a slap of filler. But more importantly the V is usually shallower so the handling in rough weather is less efficient and so you wont get as good fuel economy, but you'll probably put a bigger engine on anyway so making comparisons harder.

Trailing a SIB with the engine attached and loaded with gear may not be the kindest of things compared to doing the same on a RIB.

But you will struggle to find a RIB with engine on a trailer for £1300 that isn't a serious bag of ****.

The other things people will want to know are: