Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 31 January 2018, 03:40   #21
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,345
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highland Haggis View Post
Jeff your sib is spot on and I must say very good bed to lol
you defo had a good nights sleep on her mate
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171009_142045 (2).jpg
Views:	78
Size:	183.1 KB
ID:	123312  
__________________

__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2018, 08:41   #22
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Beacon Hill
Boat name: TBD
Make: Gemini Zapcat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith_williamson View Post
I bought an Excel XHD385 a couple of years ago. I'm disappointed with its handling and stiffness, particularly in roughish water. So I now realise I should have bought a RIB, not an inflatable.
My problem is that my engine, a 20hp 4-stroke Yamaha, is a (15") short-shaft unit. It's a great engine and I'd like to keep it.
Wherever I look for RIBs about 4m, they all seem to need a long-shaft (20") engine.
Does anyone know of a RIB, about 4m long, which has a 15" transom height for a short-shaft engine?
Sorry if this question has already been answered, but I can't find it in the searches.
Gemini Zapcat, will do nicely with your 20HP short shaft. See
https://gemini-marine.com/shop/zapcat-ff-15/
and
__________________

__________________
GI-SYD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2018, 17:14   #23
Member
 
Highland Haggis's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Edinburgh
Boat name: Excel Chalanger
Make: Highfield 380 Excel
Length: 4m +
Engine: 25 Yamaha 25Suzuki
MMSI: 235919522
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 473
Is that a new front end it looks different from what you had last year???
__________________
Highland Haggis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 February 2018, 11:16   #24
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Stamford
Boat name: Argent
Length: 4m +
Engine: 20hp Yamaha outboard
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
I've done it again. I logged in, sat here happily typing away, and then when I was ready to post, I was told I wasn't logged in and lost everything I typed.
So all my chatter is lost.
Storage problems are mainly because Her Indoors/Management/She Who Will Be Obeyed objects when our garden fills with all my boating clutter. If the inflatable is rolled up in the back of the shed she forgets about it for 4 or 5 months of the year.
Good place to launch in North Norfolk are Moreston Quay, for Blakeney Harbour, and Brancaster or Burnham Overy Staithe for Scolt Head Island and all the creeks behind it.
I could go for a rigid again, but the inflatable is easy to handle and hop out and walk if it gets too shallow. the Grandchildren love getting in and out and playing in the mud and water. My old With (Bonwitco) 16ft was light and easy too, but the later With 385 was a bit heavy to drag across the mud.
__________________
Keith_williamson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 February 2018, 03:27   #25
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: reiver 3.8/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: 40hp 2st 2x6lp 315
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,638
If weight is important and you can get over the storage issue then may be look at the ribeye tender range we replaced our excel 290 with a ribeye 280 and it's significantly lighter
You have to look carefully as they do 2 models one with an extra floor suitable for fitting a console and one without which is the one we got for weight saving. I'm not sure how large the very light tender range goes but worth a look at if you don't want to fit a console
__________________
beamishken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 February 2018, 11:24   #26
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,003
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith_williamson View Post
I've done it again. I logged in, sat here happily typing away, and then when I was ready to post, I was told I wasn't logged in and lost everything I typed.So all my chatter is lost.
RIBnet can time out due to inactivity I've found. If you've written a long-post, or you've simply been making a brew, copy content, log-in and then post. If it happens again, use back-button, that normally takes you back to your rich-text where you can copy.
__________________

__________________
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rib

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.