Old 21 September 2021, 20:41   #1

Town: Ashton-under-Lyne
Boat name: Not named yet
Make: Osprey
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard Mariner 125
Total Newbie: Osprey Eagle 6m

Good evening fellow members.

I am on the verge of buying my very first RIB - a 1997 Osprey Eagle. She is 5m in length with a 125 hp Mariner engine.

I say on the verge because I have seen her, taken her out on the water and instructed a boat surveyor to undertake a pre-purchase survey before I part with my money and bring her home.

She's not new or young - but she's my first boat and I will take great care of her.

I have purchased a RIB to get some hours on the water and consolidate the training I have been undertaken this year - RYA powerboat L2, Intermediate Powerboat, Navigation & Seamanship, VHF Marine Radio and shore-based Day Skipper. Aiming to complete the RYA Advanced Powerboat course in October.

I am already counting my chickens - sorry I mean planning some upgrades to her. Going to start by upgrading the steering to hydraulic (currently like steering a car without power-assisted steering). Welcome fellow members views on upgrades worth considering to improve her and help retain a reasonable residual value.

Many thanks

Regards,

David Clayton
Old 22 September 2021, 07:29   #2

Town: portsmouth
Boat name: Hullabaloo
Make: Humber
Length: 8m +
Engine: 225 Optimax
RIBase
Hi David and welcome to the club. Without some pics of the boat it is difficult to suggest any upgrades. However, assuming you are going to physically see the boat and will get a good sea-trial, I don't think I would waste my money on a full survey. The boat is 24 years old, so likely a surveyor will find lots of things to worry you, most of which will have no real effect on your use or enjoyment of the boat. Your big concerns should be Is the hull sound/watertight? Do the tubes hold pressure ovetr time? Is the engine functioning properly?