Old 23 April 2015, 21:22   #1

Length: 3m +
Newbie needs some advice please :)

Hello Everyone, Great site!

Long time lurker, first time poster and a complete newbie, first SIB, so please be gentle

We have recently secured a deal on an Avon W400 Workboat that was previously a Fire Service rescue boat, in fact the seller has 2 of these and says we can pick whichever one we want...

Here's a few pics...

Hoping someone can advise us where and what to look at and check please so we can make sure we pick the best one?

Also we need some advice on the options for seating, launching wheels, bimini (+ fittings) and outboard stand/trolley...

As for powering it, it 's for use whilst on our holidays in France pottering up/down rivers etc and so the maximum horsepower is 6hp without a permit etc...

So what is everyones favourite 6hp 4 stroke outboard and why?

We have been considering the Yamaha F6, 2 cylinder, 197cc, similar to the 8hp or so I have been told, any thoughts, opinions etc?
Quite popular in France, but cannot find much info, reviews on them here in the UK...

Do you think I should start a new thread on each subject or await responses on this thread?

Oh, I nearly forgot, It comes on a Snipe breakback trailer, any ideas what it's worth as not needed by us...

Many thanks and best wishes to all

John & Family
Old 24 April 2015, 12:49   #2

Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
welcome!

W400 - I used it's 5M big bro when I did my sportsboat course. (eek - the name gives a clue as to how long ago it was!!! ) Good solid boats.

I don't know them intimitely, but someone with knowledgs should be along soon.... Generic thigns to look for are:
- Patches & tears (likely on a fire rescue boat - have a good look underneath as I guess it will have been beached / field-ed / B7036*-ed a few times! *other flooded roads are available!
- Check the transom - toob joins for material stressing / tears.