Old 06 March 2022, 16:41   #1

Town: Boston
Boat name: Wild Weasel
Make: Novurania
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha 90 4 stroke
RIBase
New from the North Shore of Boston

Hello All! I am new to Ribs having recently purchased a 2009 Novurania 550 DL. I was lucky enough to get a mooring locally and am looking forward to cruising in the coming months. The boat is in great shape, but the tubes appear to have some mildew or possibly changes secondary to UV exposure. Does anyone have suggestions as to the best products to clean the tubes and try to remove the mildew? I tried to add some images, but the files are too large.

Thanks in advance!
Old 08 March 2022, 18:53   #2

Town: Wyboston, Bedford
Length: no boat
Welcome from another novice.

Sorry I can't help with the mildew problem but I'm sure somebody will.
Old 10 March 2022, 13:21   #3

Make: AB
Length: 3m +
Engine: outboard, 40hp
Start with the least harsh and work up.
Soap and water with a brush.
Inflatable boat cleaner. I haven't found one better than the other on this one.
If that doesn't work use something harsher like simple green.
For really tough spots you can use a magic eraser but don't go to hard with it because its basically sandpaper.
Once cleaned up use Aerospace 303 as a UV protector. Apply once a month. Make sure you get the vinyl stuff not the fabric stuff.
Old 10 March 2022, 14:58   #4

RIBase
Thanks! I was able to get the tubes looking a lot better basically doing the soap and water and using the magic erasers. I've attached a couple of images of the boat, I'm not sure the size of the images allows great resolution. If you look at the one of just the pontoon, I think it illustrates the issue the best.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0901.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	140001   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0896.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	36.9 KB
ID:	140002  
Old 10 March 2022, 15:10   #5