Old 29 April 2020, 05:08   #1

Town: Hilton Head Island
Length: 3m +
Hey Y'all! Beginner here and got the boating bug bad

Hey folks - glad I found this forum because I am having a hell of a time researching my first boat.

I live on Hilton Head Island in South Carolina and after really grinding out the surfing and SUPboarding the last 5 years I never really thought boating was within my financial reach. To my surprise I probably could have had a boat much sooner! These tender inflatables are much more affordable and capable than I imagined.

From my initial research I have my eyes on the Zodiac Cadet Aluminum 310 2019 model (save a little $$) - 10ft pvc boat with sectioned aluminum deck.(I believe that makes it like a middle ground between an air floor and true rigged bottom) Ive seen videos of the longer version (350) planing with a 9.9hp and Max hp 15 for the 310 so I was thinking of going with a 9.9hp

Main uses would be dolphin/bald eagle/nature watching, exploring all the little tidal waters surrounding the island - and once in a while dropping some crab pots and island hoping through the coastal marsh canals to maybe do some camping

Alright ill save it for the subject forums - but thats why I am here and Glad to be here! if you have any initial advice feel free to share!

Hilton Head Matt
Old 29 April 2020, 11:05   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Hi Matt and welcome to the forum.

I had to Google your home area... looks an interesting area for using a SIB... alligators and all!

I'll leave any specific boat discussion to questions you ask in a new thread but in short a 3.1m Cadet with 9.9hp will get you about fine as long as your people/kit load is modest.

David
Old 29 April 2020, 15:17   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenlander View Post
Hi Matt and welcome to the forum.

I had to Google your home area... looks an interesting area for using a SIB... alligators and all!