Old 04 November 2017, 23:53   #1

Town: Annapolis, MD
Boat name: TBD
Make: BRIG
Length: 5m +
Engine: Honda 90 OB
Greetings from the Colonies

Hello-

Newbie here from Annapolis, MD, enjoying my first RIB: BRIG Navigator 520 with a Honda 90 OB. I started boating back in the 1960s, and have had multiple sailboats, power boats, rowboats, canoes and kayaks. After being off the water for the past 15 years, now that I'm retired it seemed like it was time to get back out on the water, and this cute little boat caught my eye. And I'm too old and lazy to work hard, so an easy to maintain, gas powered vessel was required.

It needed to be no longer than 5.2 meters (17' LOA over on this side of the pond) to tie up (for free) at the dinghy dock in Annapolis (great place for coffee, lunch and dinner), and the max allowable engine hp is 90. It also needed to be shallow draft, economical to run (I'm retired on a fixed income), nimble and quick. This BRIG is all of the above, and is actually much quicker than I expected. Easily planes at half throttle, and maxes out at 35 kts at 6k rpm. Lovely little boat.

The only negative is that it's starting to get cold, and I'll barely be able to get the first service done on the engine at 20 hours before I have to put it up for winter.

Anyway, thanks in advance for your insights, information and experiences!

This isn't a great picture, but it's the best I have for now:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0435.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	148.3 KB
ID:	122562  
Old 05 November 2017, 09:08   #2
RIBnet supporter

Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
RIBase
Mr. Ed,
Out of interest..........
what do you need to run around in a rib in the USA?
I have heard tales of your having to pay the US Coastguard a fee?
Isn't Annapolis a US naval base? Do any special rules apply there?

"Ribbing-the most expensive way of travelling third class"
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2017, 10:56   #3

Quote: