Old 09 May 2021, 12:50   #1

Town: Saskatoon
Boat name: spitfire
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard petrol 15hp
Best way applying boat license on my rib

Just bought a 1991 lightly used and cared for 4.0 Avon spitfire from a family member. Excited to set it up but I am looking at best way to display the registration or license numbers. He had a plastic board of some sort to display boat registration number but it is broken and needs replacing or numbers set onto the bow.
I was thinking about painting them on because from what I see stick on's wont stay when deflating the boat.. My boat is hypalon so it seems that may play as a factor, I don't know.
Is there a paint to use to paint on numbers, a better stencil type/brand, or is there a stick on stencil system that doesn't come off when boat is deflated and reinflated. I'm really new to this and my boat is still in it 2 bags.
Any tips I am open to.
Regards, Alsgontrvln
Old 09 May 2021, 12:55   #2

Town: Pembroke
Boat name: Rapscallion
Make: Humber Destroyer 6.0
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-TEC 150
Can you stick them on the transom?
Old 09 May 2021, 14:46   #3
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Tallis View Post
Can you stick them on the transom?

As the OP says “set onto bow” I assume not. Most places that require registration numbers need them displayed to be visible both sides.

IMHO painting is probably the most permanent Option (you get specific rubber paint) but it’s likely to crack when folded a lot and leave a permanent mark that devalues the boat so I would consider alternatives

Stick on numbers will work at least for a while. As with sticking anything surface prep will make a big difference. Will potentially still cause permanent damage.

Common approach on Loch Lomond is a board that is just tied on. They often bounce around and end up invisible - but rangers don’t seem too bothered.