Old 16 January 2021, 03:40   #1

Town: Maple ridge
Boat name: Acti-v
Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: Outboard 9.9hp
Zodiac acti-v cavitation

Hi, hoping to find a solution for my cavitation issue. I’m new to the SIB inflatables, always had Jon boats previously. So, I have a zodiac club fastroller acti-v that was given to me and a 9.9hp 2stroke I had already, so when I get the boat just on plane it starts with the cavitation. Rpm revs and prop seems to be pushing air and then doesn’t wanna go anywhere . Now I am using a 9.9hp long shaft that I have extended the transom to where the ventilation plate sits about 3 inches below transom base. I know the suggestion hight is 1-2in bellow transom but wouldn’t being even lower prevent the cavitation issue? Should I raise it more or lower it? I’ve tried all the different trim positions and same if I’m solo in the boat or with a passenger.. would a hydrofoil help solve the problem?

Not sure which direction to go here and help and insight would be much appreciated.
Thansk
Old 16 January 2021, 11:07   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Hi and welcome to the forum. Air floor setups can sometimes be quite tricky to get right to avoid the problem you're having.

I've owned two 360 Fastrollers and two 340 Fastrollers and run them with both 10hp and 15hp 2-stroke Mercury motors. My motors were short shaft and set with anti-ventilation plates about 1" below the transom bottom.

We ran loads between two adults and two teens plus dog and kit... to one adult and one light teen. 90% of the time these boats were free from prop grip problems but certain wave conditions or perhaps crew in the wrong place could spark off a brief slip.