Old 01 May 2008, 15:46   #1

Town: Gloucestershire
Length: 4m +
Towing a SIB

Hi, need some advice please!

Me and my dad have a 4.3m quicksilver with 25hp on a home made trailer (tralier weighs about 100ish kg), i'm a poor student so am getting a more economical car that would tow the boat/trailer for when me and the girlfriend go away.

The car in mind is a 1.4 TD ford fiesta, that will tow 750kg braked towing weight with 118lb-ft of torque. I know it'll tow the weight ok but is it going to be ok on slip ways ect? or would i be better getting something like a 1.8 TD focus instead?

Thanks for any comments
Old 01 May 2008, 16:16   #2
RAD

Town: Essex
Boat name: Club Boat
Length: no boat
Engine: Yam 40hp
Might be ok, just use a long line on the slipways so you aren't in the water.

Also depends on the type of slipways you are going to be launching off.

I have a 1.8 Focus but never launched with it on a slipway.
Old 01 May 2008, 20:25   #3

Town: Côte d'Azur
Boat name: Beaver Patrol
Make: Avon Searider SR4
Length: 4m +
For that boat you really won't have any issues. I used to tow a 4.1m RIB with a 40hp mariner on it around with my 1.1l Punto when I first started uni. Was fine on the slip. If cash isn't too much of any issue, I'd get the Focus though; much nicer to drive IMHO.
Old 02 May 2008, 17:39   #4

Town: yorkshire
Boat name: little vicky
Make: avon ex RNLI
Length: 3m +
Engine: tohatsu