Click Here to Login

Old 11 January 2019, 22:46   #1

Town: Seattle
Make: Achilles
Length: 3m +
Engine: 18hp 2 smoke
Total newbie with questions about my Achilles SGX-122

Hi All!

First post for me, but I have been browsing the forum for a few months as I learned more about RIBs and SIBs while searching for one to buy. Last night I finally picked one up locally in the Seattle area, a 1993 Achilles SGX-122 with a Nissan 18hp 2 smoke. I've never owned an inflatable before, but wanted to get one to improve my fishing and crabbing prospects.

I searched for answers to my questions below but couldn't find any answers, hopefully the voice of experience from you all can guide me on my way!

Question 1: Is it OK to use my truck bed for transport of the inflated SIB?
I bought the boat without a trailer, and I would like to avoid trailers if possible since that improves my options for getting close parking/access to the water (in my case Puget Sound) for beach launches (I am planning to add transom wheels). I would like to keep the boat inflated all the time and have a good place to store it inflated at home. My truck bed is 6 feet/1.8M and the boat is 12 feet/about 3.7M. As long as the outboard is off, is it ok to just lift into the truck bed and strap it down with half the boat including the (empty) transom hanging out the back? I am attaching a picture from the maiden voyage home last night.

Question 2: What do i need to use to inflate?
This boat did not come with a pump (quite stiff even though previous owner says he has not inflated it during his 18 months of ownership), I realize that I can buy an official Achilles brand foot pump but was wondering if there is anything magical about the valves or if I could instead get some sort of generic pump or adapter... extra points if it is something I can attach to my compressor! Sorry for such a basic question, total newbie!
Old 11 January 2019, 22:59   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380