Old 12 June 2021, 16:25   #1

Town: Kent
Boat name: ever dry
Make: Elling KB350
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 15hp 2 stroke
Tarp or groundsheet under sib for inflation

The local slipways are concrete and the car parks tarmac, neither fills me with enthusiasm for laying out my bagged pride & joy and inflating it. At least I can see if there is broken glass, if I set up further away on grass I risk the broken bottle parts hiding, so those who inflate on hard standings, what do you use to protect your bottom?

I dont have room in the car for a carpet offcut that big, I was thinking of using a cheap tarp but I doubt that is thick enough to fight off a rice pudding. Picnic rugs are just not big enough & camping groundsheets I have no experience of.

So what do you use?
Old 12 June 2021, 17:27   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Been using a better quality blue plastic tarp (with silver back)... same one for 5yrs plus... it's just big enough for a 3.8mish SIB. Used on sand, mud, stones, small gravel, concrete and tarmac. Still undamaged.

But this did come from a proper tarp company... some of the cheap Ebay blue ones are about as thick as a Tesco carrier bag.

My tarp is nearer the thickness of the Elling red bag.
Old 12 June 2021, 18:02   #3

Yes David, I have several of the thin blue plastic woven tarps we use around the garden, even doubled up I wouldn't trust it to keep anything at bay.
I think I should be looking for something 200-250gsm.
Its a pity I have two new 4mtr long heavy duty tarps which I would trust, unfortunately they are specials at just 80cm wide, so even two together wont be enough.
Old 13 June 2021, 06:03   #4

If a tarp is intact for 5years... What makes me think the SIB without tarp would also be intact?
Old 13 June 2021, 06:43   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
If a tarp is intact for 5years... What makes me think the SIB without tarp would also be intact?