Old 10 July 2020, 17:37   #1

Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 20hp
Super Rookie Question Bonanza

Hi all. I’m a super newbie willing-to-learn novice and am on the cusp of buying my first SIB and outboard.
I have a whole load of embarrassingly naive questions and figured it might tickle someone to try and answer them all in the most simple and succinct terms...

Even if your answers were Yes/No, or just ‘you should Google xyz’ then I’m bound to learn so much!

Love this Forum! Thanks!

So...

1. Can I launch a SIB with an engine from any public (not private or military) beach so long as I’m careful, launch from somewhere quiet, be respectful and look out for swimmers etc? My local Council byelaws only mention specific places where you're permitted to launch Jetskis...

2. If you put down an anchor/tie your boat up by the side of a river is it ok to just get it as far out of the way as poss if you're going ashore? I understand that that is key whether you are stepping out onto private or public land - I just wondered what the rules were for stopping somewhere on a river? (Any tips on getting people out as dry as possible are welcome!).

3. Do I need to tell any authorities (a harbour master?) that I’m on the sea or a river? Or going from one to the other? I know I need to pay and acknowledge my presence when using a slipway that has a launch fee...

4. Do I require a Licence/Insurance for a SIB? If not essential are either advisable?

5. Do tides on rivers correspond to the nearest coastal tides? With a difference in minute etc?
And, if you’re planning a journey, a round trip on the river, would you time it so the middle of your stay at the destination was at high tide?

6. Anchor (and chain?) for a 4.3m SIB - what to you recommend? For sea, ashore by the sea/side of a river?

I did say they were rookie questions!

Many thanks
Old 10 July 2020, 17:39   #2

PS - also