Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Inflatable boats - SIBs and folding RIBs
Click Here to Login

Old 11 June 2021, 13:30   #1

Town: Dumfries
Length: no boat
Suitable aftermarket storage bag - Bombard Aero 380

Hi folks,

I'm about to purchase a second hand Bombard Aero 380, however it doesn't have the original bag as has been kept on a trailer and the owner wasn't given the bag.

Would anyone be able to advise what size of bag is needed and where to purchase?

It also doesn't have transom wheels, so any recommendations on the most suitable ones for this model would be much appreciated.

I'm still learning about SIBs so will likely have more questions!!

Many thanks
Old 11 June 2021, 15:48   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Hello and welcome to the forum. Despite being about to trial an even easier to manage SIB (when shoreside) I still have my Aerotec of the past 6yrs.... for their design type and use they have never been bettered. Hope you enjoy yours.

Re transom wheels I rate the OE Zodiac type highly if you don't want them to flip up. If you do then the Trem ones that engage with the OE "buttons" are best.

If you mean a bow bag for me they were not that great (bow bags in general not just the Bombard one). Anything heavy puts strain on the D-ring fixings and they make it hard to exit bow on to a packed pontoon in the summer. If seat bags then most generic ones about the same as each other in use and re quality.
Old 11 June 2021, 19:23   #3

Hi Fenlander,

Many thanks for your response.

It’s the actual storage bag for the sib that’s missing. The current owner doesn’t have the bag and leaves the sib on a trailer semi-inflated. (Hoping this isn’t detrimental to it!).