Old 20 June 2022, 04:22   #1

Town: Goodyear
Make: Saturn Boats
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki 25hp EFI
SIB novice needs help...motor and trim

I posted a while back when I was deciding on motor size. I finally made a purchase and my son and I took out a brand new 13’ Saturn and a Suzuki 25hp EFI motor to start the break in. I know…the Saturn might have been a mistake but like I said I’m a novice. Although the boat is rated to 30hp, so I didn’t think 25hp was too much.

We got out on the lake and with barely any throttle, I nearly folded the boat in half. Im hoping this is just a trim problem. The whole outing was such a disaster that I packed it up, brought it home and put it away. It hasn't been touched in over a year. Now I need to get it out again and I have some big concerns. I think my questions are very basic but no-one uses SIBs around here. My son is begging me to go back out so I appreciate any help.

Question #1
What steps should I take before attempting to restart it?

The brand new motor only has about 15 mins of run time on it. After that it was taken off the boat and straight to a clean, climate controlled storage unit with very little temperature change (approx 78 degrees). It has been there for over a year without being touched. The motor was not flushed or the fuel system drained. Please tell me this $4,000 motor is not ruined forever.
Old 20 June 2022, 05:03   #2
RIBnet supporter

Town: Cowes
Boat name: Clear Dawn
Make: Cormate
Length: 7m +
Engine: Verado 200
MMSI: 235924981
The engine will be fine, I’m assuming it was fresh water anyway.
Can you define what folding the boat in half means? It potentially sounds like there was no air in the tubes.
Old 20 June 2022, 05:29   #3

Thank you for replying.